Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

August 22, 2013

WILLIAMS: Does anyone still care about the planet?

I don’t get quite as emotion-ally involved with the state of the earth as I used to. I have no grand-children and therefore, no hostages to the future.

And it appears the future is looking more precarious all the time.

The environment was always my pet political issue because, while other things may cause vast temporary pain, they are temporary — wars end, dictators are overthrown, economies bounce back. While that may not be much comfort to the individuals who lost loved ones in the wars or went hungry during depressions or were tortured under dictators, man can overcome events. And we can do it on a cosmic dime (relatively speaking) by changing laws or changing attitudes.

No so with the environment. When a species has been wiped out, it is gone forever. When an aquifer is polluted, it is mostly likely ruined forever (at least as humans think of forever). When we change our very climate so that the ice melts and the seas rise and the hurricanes and tornadoes become ever more deadly, there is no saying, “oops, let’s go back,” at least, not any time soon.

In the ’60s, when young people were a’brim with the idea that we could change the world through movements — (civil rights! women’s rights! end the war!) there was a passion for the environment. We high-fived when the Endangered Species Act passed. We wanted to save the wetlands and the redwoods and the habitat of this or that owl or fish or mammal. There was an almost spiritual fervor about defending our planet against the greed of the plunderers.

Now we post pretty pictures of wolf cubs on Facebook, maybe we even make a small donation, and that’s our contribution to the cause.

There are now more wild horses in captivity (50,000) than there are running free (46,000 +/-) because sorry, there just isn’t room for them. We need those grazing rights for cows, don’t you know?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.