Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 28, 2012

OUR VIEW: Long journey approaches its end

— Logansport and Cass County officials joined last week in marking another milestone toward completion of the long-awaited Hoosier Heartland.

Antique cars, semis, fire trucks and police cars lined up Wednesday morning in preparation for the opening of the segment from Delphi to Lafayette. It was a great moment.

Way too many lives had been lost along the old stretch of Ind. 25 from Delphi to Lafayette. The drive along the new four-lane highway is now considerably faster, and safer.

Business leaders and elected officials have been working for decades to make this dream a reality. A group called the Hoosier Heartland Industrial Corridor Inc. has campaigning for decades both in Indiana and in Washington to secure the funding to complete the $213 million project.

There were lots of naysayers. State leaders told the highway’s backers years ago that the only way the project would ever be built was as a toll road, but the supports kept at it, kept pushing their elected leaders and kept fighting to build the highway a segment at a time.

Then came Gov. Mitch Daniels and the Major Moves funding generated by the state’s lease of the Indiana Toll Road. Suddenly the Heartland went from distant dream to tangible reality.

For some, the fight over highway funding has been political, but in Logansport and Cass County, the Heartland project has never been about politics. Republicans and Democrats have worked side by side to make the case for the new roadway.

And now, the end of this long fight is just over the horizon.

Some who were there at the beginning did not live to see last week’s milestone. Others, though, can barely contain their enthusiasm.

Roughly a year from now, officials will gather again, this time to open the final segment to Logansport.

By then, the road will amount to a four-lane link from Lafayette to Lake Erie, and already, local officials are seeing increased interest from industries looking to locate along such a corridor. City and county leaders are looking for ways not only to capitalize on that interest but to lure motorists along the new highway to make a stop in Logansport as part of the journey.

Last week’s celebration was a great milestone, but it won’t be long before the highway is finished. And then the real celebrating will begin.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.