Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 14, 2012

Delivering the good with bad

Every once in a while, I get an envelope containing a marked-up copy of the front page.

I’m pretty sure they come from the same person, but I can’t be certain because the person never signs his or her name.

Last week, I got an envelope containing two front pages. One contained four crime stories. The second had several stories about things the reader saw as positive developments in the community.

On the first page, the reader had written the word “crap” with arrows pointing to all four stories. The second page contained a simple note, “Why can’t we get more front pages like this?”

Actually, we produce lots of front pages filled with good news.

A week ago today, the story at the top of our front page was about 6-year-old Aspen Cozzello, who sold lemonade to raise money for a friend fighting terminal cancer. The next day, we had a report on a fundraiser called “Dancing With Our Stars,” which raised $44,000 to support efforts by Logan’s Landing to transform downtown Logansport into an arts and design district.

The day after that, we had a story about Morgan Mills, a 2007 graduate of Logansport High School who raised $11,000 for the Indiana chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. That same page had a banner headline about a new contract for workers at MW Industries.

Wednesday’s edition brought more good news. A city council committee was looking at tax abatement for an expansion aimed at bringing nine new jobs to Tube Fabrication Industries Inc., while participants in the 21st annual Great Grown-up Spelling Bee raised about $2,000 for Literacy Volunteers of Cass County and the town of Flora won a $500,000 grant for a wastewater project.

Thursday’s edition featured stories about two firemen being recognized for saving the life of a baby and about the local adult education program offering General Education Development classes online. A third front-page story reported that consultants were starting work to identify local hazardous waste sites in need of cleanup.

Then came Friday’s edition with news that the city had won a $50,000 grant from Walmart to fight hunger and news that Logansport native Dale Clear would be onstage at McHale Performing Arts Center for Saturday night’s concert featuring rising country music star Craig Campbell. That front page also featured the last of this year’s Good Neighbors award winners.

I won’t claim that every week is like that.

Some weeks we have lots of crime stories on the front page, and every once in a while, we’ll have an entire front page filled with nothing but bad news.

We don’t plan it that way. We go out looking for stories, and now and then, all of the stories we find are uplifting. Other days, they’re not.

Our goal every day is to provide the most comprehensive report we can assemble about what is happening in Logansport and the surrounding area.

We think our readers want to know about the good things their neighbors are doing, but we also think they want to know when a neighbor winds up on the wrong side of the law.

Candidly, we also know that bad news sells.

We post stories on our web page and on Facebook and Twitter nearly every day of the week, and we know from watching the traffic that more readers are drawn to those bad news stories than are drawn to an uplifting story we splash across the top of the front page.

Bad news sells.

Still, we don’t go out trying to dig up more bad news. Crimes happen, and we report them. Good deeds happen, and we report those, too.

We hope that most of our readers get the news they’re searching for in each day’s edition. If you have feedback on how we’re doing, don’t hesitate to let me know.

• Kelly Hawes is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. He can be reached at 574-732-5155 or kelly.hawes@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The sheer dumbness of an enormous dome There is a TV series about an entire town trapped under a giant, mysterious crystal-clear dome that appears out of the blue one day. The dome is impenetrable; no one can get in, no one can get out. Who made the dome? Aliens? God? A super-secret branc

    July 22, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Road to funding Indiana highways jammed If you’ve driven on either of Indiana’s two busiest interstates recently, you’ll understand why a blue-ribbon commission last week called for adding traffic lanes to those harrowing highways.The report, issued by the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Panel on T

    July 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.