Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 14, 2012

Delivering the good with bad

Every once in a while, I get an envelope containing a marked-up copy of the front page.

I’m pretty sure they come from the same person, but I can’t be certain because the person never signs his or her name.

Last week, I got an envelope containing two front pages. One contained four crime stories. The second had several stories about things the reader saw as positive developments in the community.

On the first page, the reader had written the word “crap” with arrows pointing to all four stories. The second page contained a simple note, “Why can’t we get more front pages like this?”

Actually, we produce lots of front pages filled with good news.

A week ago today, the story at the top of our front page was about 6-year-old Aspen Cozzello, who sold lemonade to raise money for a friend fighting terminal cancer. The next day, we had a report on a fundraiser called “Dancing With Our Stars,” which raised $44,000 to support efforts by Logan’s Landing to transform downtown Logansport into an arts and design district.

The day after that, we had a story about Morgan Mills, a 2007 graduate of Logansport High School who raised $11,000 for the Indiana chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. That same page had a banner headline about a new contract for workers at MW Industries.

Wednesday’s edition brought more good news. A city council committee was looking at tax abatement for an expansion aimed at bringing nine new jobs to Tube Fabrication Industries Inc., while participants in the 21st annual Great Grown-up Spelling Bee raised about $2,000 for Literacy Volunteers of Cass County and the town of Flora won a $500,000 grant for a wastewater project.

Thursday’s edition featured stories about two firemen being recognized for saving the life of a baby and about the local adult education program offering General Education Development classes online. A third front-page story reported that consultants were starting work to identify local hazardous waste sites in need of cleanup.

Then came Friday’s edition with news that the city had won a $50,000 grant from Walmart to fight hunger and news that Logansport native Dale Clear would be onstage at McHale Performing Arts Center for Saturday night’s concert featuring rising country music star Craig Campbell. That front page also featured the last of this year’s Good Neighbors award winners.

I won’t claim that every week is like that.

Some weeks we have lots of crime stories on the front page, and every once in a while, we’ll have an entire front page filled with nothing but bad news.

We don’t plan it that way. We go out looking for stories, and now and then, all of the stories we find are uplifting. Other days, they’re not.

Our goal every day is to provide the most comprehensive report we can assemble about what is happening in Logansport and the surrounding area.

We think our readers want to know about the good things their neighbors are doing, but we also think they want to know when a neighbor winds up on the wrong side of the law.

Candidly, we also know that bad news sells.

We post stories on our web page and on Facebook and Twitter nearly every day of the week, and we know from watching the traffic that more readers are drawn to those bad news stories than are drawn to an uplifting story we splash across the top of the front page.

Bad news sells.

Still, we don’t go out trying to dig up more bad news. Crimes happen, and we report them. Good deeds happen, and we report those, too.

We hope that most of our readers get the news they’re searching for in each day’s edition. If you have feedback on how we’re doing, don’t hesitate to let me know.

• Kelly Hawes is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. He can be reached at 574-732-5155 or kelly.hawes@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.