Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

May 31, 2013

THORNS & ROSES: Week of May 31

LOGANSPORT — Thanks for making evening special

Members of Tri Kappa Sorority give this Rose to the community for a successful evening:

“A special thanks goes to our corporate sponsors Mike Anderson Auto Group, Bruno’s, Dr. Jack Goris and Logansport Savings Bank. Tri Kappa hosts Ladies Night Out to fund our scholarship programs. Locally, Tri Kappa provides scholarships and/or Book Awards (approximately $4,000) to all Cass County high schools: Caston, Lewis Cass, Logansport and Pioneer high schools. At the state level, Tri Kappa also contributes to the Hilda Bowen Nursing, Tri Kappa State Academic and Fine Arts Scholarships.

“Tri Kappa’s goals are to support Cass County through charity, culture and education. Thanks again for helping support Tri Kappa goals and the community.”

School gets big honor from state

The Pharos-Tribune gives this Rose to Eastern Pulaski Elementary School:

We give a big thumbs up to the teachers, administrators and students at Eastern Pulaski Elementary School for their statewide recognition as a 2013 Four-Star School.

School officials have set high goals for its students — such as topping 90 percent of its students passing the ISTEP+ test — and they’re reaching them. It’s great to see the enthusiasm the students and school leaders share.

Thank you for your service

The Pharos-Tribune gives this Rose to our veterans and residents who support them:

In recognition of Memorial Day on Monday, a parade of veterans made its way through town. Even in the rain, residents lined the street to watch the procession.

A sign of a strong community is its commitment to the men and women who fought for their country. That spirit is alive and well here in Logansport.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.