Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

July 7, 2013

KNISELY: Gardens gone wild

Unless it involves a corner booth and an old friend, playing catch-up is rarely fun. That holds especially true in the garden. Like most things, I learned that the hard way.

When I moved into my new house, I decided having a garden would be a lovely idea. So I hit the greenhouse and then got to planting. Well, I guess I should say I bought the plants and then had to find the time over the next few days to actually get them all planted. That should have been a sign that I don't have time to devote to a garden, but alas, I didn't see it.

Despite the birds and the bunnies who ravaged the strawberry and broccoli plants, the garden started growing — and so did the weeds. A lot of weeds. Weeds on steroids. More weeds than I think I've ever seen. I kept saying to myself, "I'll get out there tomorrow and start weeding before it gets too out of control." Ahh, the lies we tell ourselves.

Another couple days passed and the internal dialogue changed to, "No really, Knisely. You will make the time tomorrow to weed. The neighbors are going to complain soon."

But then the next day, as always, I worked late, or met a friend for dinner, or had to mow instead, or decided it was just too hot to be out weeding in the garden. There's always some sort of reason (or I bet you could easily say excuse) as to why I didn't get the weeding done. But whatever the reason, it wasn't getting done.

So finally I decided to suck it up and hit the garden to play catch-up.

As anyone who's done any gardening at all knows, weeding is something best done regularly. It's when you wait until the situation might draw the attention of the Department of Homeland Security that things get a little hairy. Determined anyway, I grabbed my gloves, a box for the weeds and a hoe.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.