Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 7, 2014

KITCHELL: Taxes, like them or not, necessary evil

There are many questions still to be answered when it comes to the proposed purchased power agreement on the table for Logansport city officials to consider.

With city council and Utility Service Board votes scheduled before a public meeting where the owners of the utility — that’s us — have a chance to ask questions and to decide if this is something Logansport should have and want, the initial question is, “What’s the rush?”

Before those votes are taken and before local residents walk through the door of McHale Performing Arts Center next Thursday, it’s important to think about the idea of the city being forced to purchase power from a plant it won’t own for two decades or longer. How will it be maintained? If we choose to take over ownership in 20 or 25 years, what guarantees are there that we would want it, and if we don’t, whose responsibility will it be to clean it up, close it or tear it down?

But the two primary points to consider are that the initial rate being proposed, which would be less than what Duke Energy is charging us now, would only be in effect for a few years. After that, it would be subject to the open market. That doesn’t lock in prices for the long term or give industrial site selection officials much to go on in terms of what industries compared to other cities that have long-term agreements in place. In short, there’s a good chance that even after this plant is built, the rates we could be paying will be higher than what we’re paying now or paying Duke.

Second, the mayor’s claim in a report by WLFI claims that this plant could represent the end of property taxes. Hmmm. That’s a great bandwagon statement, but the reality is that while many of us live in Logansport or the Logansport Municipal Utilities service area, there’s more to property taxes than just the city’s share. Township, state, county and library taxes are part of the rate, too, not to mention a factor that takes up the lion’s share of the rest of the rate, the school tax. To say that any project like this is going to eliminate property taxes is absurd, though it plays to voters who may not understand that the city doesn’t control everything that goes into property taxes. Even if a generating plant could generate enough revenue for the city to equal the amount the city pays, the state would likely require a tax rate in case something happens to the plant, such as revenue not meeting projections. There’s also the reality of the debt situations to consider. The proposed charette plan to redevelop the Logansport Mall will require some significant public funding that will either require paying a private developer (at the developer’s profit) or draining much of the funding in the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) District combined accounts. If the latter happens, it would place much of the city’s available financing dollars in one basket and could hamstring economic development in those districts for several years.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.