Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 23, 2014

KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't

There’s a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement — and local property taxpayers are paying that price.

In case you haven’t received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock when it comes to the city of Logansport tax rate. One friend emailed me about a 73 percent increase.

Wait a minute, isn’t this what the much reported “property tax caps” were intended to protect us from having? Anyone care to think what the increase would be without those “protections” in place?

The fact of the matter is that tinkering with tax rates is far from an exact science. There probably isn’t anyone among us who wouldn’t stand up and cheer for a tax cut, or even the elimination of a tax. It’s also not something that’s easy to oppose, especially when tax cuts lead to the prospect that more econonmic development will follow, bringing a rising tide of economic prosperity with it that will broaden our tax base.

Where this situation went drastically haywire is when Indiana legislators restructured the tax code. On the surface, what grabs the headlines are the cuts, but what sticks around after the vote, the handshakes and the bragging is the bill. Without aligning tax cuts with spending cuts, the bill for taxes shifts to the people still paying taxes. In this case, it’s us. Tax caps gave us a false sense of security that somehow government wouldn’t hike up what it wants from us more than the rate of inlation, or more than the arket value of our properties. But that’s exactly what’s happened, and now yet another “blue ribbon commission” has been appointed to review what happened because whatever projections originally made for legislators weren’t accurate or complete.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners return to fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week. When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putt

    August 18, 2014

  • LYONS: Climate change deniers resort to attacks Recently a friend posted a video on Facebook that he asserted would demolish the Godless theory of evolution. On it, a fellow sitting in a pickup and wearing a backward baseball cap smugly explained that Darwinian evolution contradicts the Second Law

    August 18, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Depression a disease, not a mood Robin Williams had it all.A picture perfect family — the supportive, doting wife and three loving children.Talent beyond belief.The admiration of the masses.Riches and all the luxuries they provide.Yes, Robin Williams sure did have it all.But he had

    August 17, 2014

  • KNISELY: Heading back to school It never ceases to amaze me the wildly different views my nieces have of getting ready to go back to school and actually going back to school every year. As school time approaches, they are ecstatic about all the stuff they get to do. One of those th

    August 17, 2014

  • Stu Engle P-T columnist sig ENGLE: Motivation that stays year round Every year I hear from students, “I will do better in school when I get paid for it.”My response, “What you are learning today will determine your future pay.”The mind-set for some teens exists in short-term benefits. They live in the here-and-now. A

    August 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • STANCZYKIEWICZ: Mental health and suicide Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a Major League Baseball pitch

    August 17, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, Aug. 17, 2014 Festival the work of many volunteersThe Fulton-Liberty Lions Club currently has 20 members, certainly not enough to run our Fulton Fun Days Festival. If not for the many volunteers, the festival would not take place. We can’t begin to express the app

    August 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes Lunch Bus Delivers Meals to Kids Out of School Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners Rockets Fired From Gaza, in Breach of Ceasefire Raw: Japanese Military Live Fire Exercise Police, Protesters Clash in Ferguson Independent Autopsy Reveals Michael Brown Wounds Nashville Embraces Motley Crue Obama: 'Time to Listen, Not Just Shout' Lawyer: Gov. Perry Indictment a 'Nasty Attack' Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Crosses Into Ukraine Iowa Man Builds Statue of a Golfer Out of Balls Assange Gets Cryptic About Leaving Embassy in UK Raw: Building Collapse in South Africa, 9 Dead Raw: Pope Francis Meets 'Comfort Women'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.