Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

June 27, 2013

WILLIAMS: Living through a derecho

What the heck? I always consi-dered myself to be fairly well read. I’m fasci-nated by words and I pay attention to weather. I have Weath-erbug installed on my computer and I frequently have the Weather Channel on TV during weather events. Of course, I’ve always known about tornadoes and hurricanes and tsunamis and cyclones and other severe weather phenomena.

But I don’t remember ever hearing the term derecho until this year, although I gather they’ve been around forever and in fact, the U.S. experienced an especially terrible one in 2012. It mostly hit the mid-Atlantic states and resulted in the highest winds ever recorded in June or July. Twenty-two people died and over five million lost power. Did they call it a derecho? If they did, I must not have picked up on it.

Derecho is Spanish for “straight.” A derecho is rather like a tornado but with straight line winds instead of the circular motion of winds in a funnel cloud. (In case you didn’t know, tornado is the Spanish word for “turning.”)

To technically qualify as a derecho, the Weather Service criteria dictates that the line of damage must be at 240 miles long with wind gusts up to at least 58 miles per hour. Actually, many of them are much worse than that. In the one Indiana experienced a couple of weeks ago, Wabash was the hardest hit with 100-mile-an-hour winds. In spite of that, there was a surprisingly small amount of damage except for uprooted trees and ripped off branches. I lost power for approximately 10 hours. In 1998, a derecho that hit Michigan resulted in recorded wind speeds of 130 miles an hour.

Here is how the Storm Prediction Center defines a derecho: “Derechos are associated with bands of showers or thunderstorms that assume a curved or bowed shape. The bow-shaped storms are called bow echoes. Derecho winds are the product of what meteorologists call downbursts. A downburst is a concentrated area of strong wind produced by a convective downdraft (i.e. areas of downward moving wind that are smaller and more intense than other downdrafts).” So, now you know.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.