Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

November 11, 2012

OUR VIEW: A day to honor nation’s veterans

— Because of a quirk in the calendar, Americans get an extra day this year to honor our nation’s veterans.

In 1926, Congress passed a resolution recognizing Nov. 11 as Armistice Day. The idea was to commemorate the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918, the moment when fighting stopped in World War I, “the most destructive, sanguinary and far-reaching war in human annals.”

Everyone hoped the conflict would be “the war to end all wars,” and the resolution called on Americans to mark the anniversary “with thanksgiving and prayer and exercises designed to perpetuate peace through good will and mutual understanding between nations.”

Too soon, though, the world found itself at war again, and in 1954, Congress passed a measure to change the name of the observance to Veterans Day, a day to honor American veterans of all wars.

Because Nov. 11 falls on a Sunday this year, the official holiday has been moved to Monday, and as a result, communities across the country will gather Monday morning for a salute to veterans. This community will be no exception.

The Cass County Veterans Council’s annual parade will start with a ceremony at 10 a.m. Monday at the Cass County Government Building. Participants will then march to the Logansport City Building, where a program will follow the parade. After that, the crowd will move to the parking lot west of the Pharos-Tribune for a musical tribute to our nation’s veterans by the Lewis Cass Marching Kings.

This nation’s military has been at war for more than a decade in Iraq and Afghanistan, and the prolonged fighting has taken a toll.

Thankfully, our nation’s leaders say our troops will be headed home by the end of next year. They can get back to their homes and families.

The men and women in this nation’s military are volunteers. They put on the uniform out of a love for this country and its founding principles. They lay their lives on the line in defense of this nation’s freedoms. It’s because of their sacrifice that the rest of us are able to live the lives we live today.

We owe them our thanks. Turn out for Monday’s official program if you can, but whatever you do, take at least a few moments to express your gratitude to this nation’s veterans. And offer a prayer for peace.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.