Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 15, 2013

Thorns & Roses

A commitment to service

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to Logansport Memorial Hospital for its commitment to improve emergency room wait times:

Logansport Memorial Hospital has struggled with wait times in the emergency room. At times, hospital officials told us earlier this week, patients have waited about 46 minutes to be seen by an ER doctor. Some patients didn’t make it that long and opted to leave.

Through our website and Facebook page, we received a lot of feedback from our readers regarding the story we published on extended wait times. It’s obviously been a problem.

Fortunately, it’s a problem recognized by hospital administrators, who are now working to resolve it.

They’ve set an ambitious goal of instituting a 15-minute “door-to-doctor” standard. We think they have a good strategy in place to reach it. We wish them the best of luck.

Serving those who serve

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to Marine Cpl. Braxton Eckelbarger for his service and to his family and friends supporting him:

Marine Cpl. Braxton Eckelbarger is currently on his second tour of duty in Afghanistan. Serving his country has long been his dream — even graduating high school early to do so. This country is strong because of people like Eckelbarger.

Eckelbarger’s friend Russell Anderson is going above and beyond to honor Eckelbarger’s commitment to service by restoring his 1965 Mustang. With the help of friends and family, Anderson hopes to have the work completed before the Marine’s return home in April or May. This country is great because of people like Anderson and those helping him.

We salute Eckelbarger’s service to his country and applaud those supporting him back at home.

Radio club thankful for donations

Dave  Wandrei, on behalf of the Cass County Amateur Radio Club, sends this Rose to an anonymous donor:

The Cass County Amateur Radio Club received two anonymous $500 donations via mail in January. The anonymous donations were a first for the club and will be used to maintain its repeater systems that expand members’ communication range.

Club members are very thankful for the donations.

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.