Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 11, 2013

FREY: Feds not immune to budget

In a recent ABC news exclusive with George Stephanopoulos, President Obama was pessimistic at best about bridging the differences between the Republicans and the Democrats on how to reduce the deficit.

He conceded that there will probably be no deal on the budget, tax and spending woes of our nation any time in the near future. The Republicans, he added, are part of the problem because they continue insisting that entitlement programs need to be overhauled.

The president also announced the following: “We don’t have an immediate crisis in terms of debt.”

Are you kidding me? No immediate crisis?

Here are the facts. A dark and ominous financial cloud has been covering the United States of America for a long, long time. Since the Republican convention on Aug. 27, 2012, the national debt has grown by about a trillion dollars. Probably a lot more by the time this column makes it to print and sees the light of day.

Call a spade a spade. We are in dire straits.

How the president can blithely make such ignorant economical comments is beyond comprehension.

One of the greatest life lessons my father and mother taught me was how to save and budget money. Budgeting begins with depositing money in a savings account at a bank to be used at a later date when needed. My father did not spend money we did not have. My father always made sure we lived within our means. Bills were paid by the end of the month and always on time. The outcome of making good financial decisions is that my parents were never in debt.

Saving and budgeting money has also always been embraced by every church where I have ever been a member. The importance of being good stewards of money, get this, guarantees that the pastors will receive their salaries, the utility bills will be paid, and missions all around the world will be supported. Our Methodist church in Frankfort spends a great deal of time thinking about how money generously given from those in the congregation should be spent, or better yet, not spent. We had the same gig going on at First United Methodist Church in Logansport.

The federal government, on the other hand, spends a great deal of time not budgeting, all the while negligently and willy-nilly spending money it does not have. Does. Not. Have.

The situation is repugnant. Both sides of the isle are at fault. And the president needs to get his act together and stop assigning fault.

If my husband and I went about running our finances as does the federal government, our house would be taken away, there would be no money to help support our church, our children would be sent to foster care, and a host of other unthinkable things.

Meanwhile, back at the Vatican, newly elected Pope Francis, God love him, is on a mission to defend and help the poor, disadvantaged and downtrodden.

Which is exactly what all of us will be if the Republicans and Democrats do not begin working together.

During his installation Mass, Pope Francis said: “Today, amid so much darkness, we need to be the light of hope and to be the men and women who bring hope to others.”

Members of Congress and Mr. President, take heed, listen carefully, and please, turn on that light of hope and emerge from the darkness.

Alvia Lewis Frey is a columnist for the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at alewisfrey@aol.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.