Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 11, 2013

FREY: Feds not immune to budget

In a recent ABC news exclusive with George Stephanopoulos, President Obama was pessimistic at best about bridging the differences between the Republicans and the Democrats on how to reduce the deficit.

He conceded that there will probably be no deal on the budget, tax and spending woes of our nation any time in the near future. The Republicans, he added, are part of the problem because they continue insisting that entitlement programs need to be overhauled.

The president also announced the following: “We don’t have an immediate crisis in terms of debt.”

Are you kidding me? No immediate crisis?

Here are the facts. A dark and ominous financial cloud has been covering the United States of America for a long, long time. Since the Republican convention on Aug. 27, 2012, the national debt has grown by about a trillion dollars. Probably a lot more by the time this column makes it to print and sees the light of day.

Call a spade a spade. We are in dire straits.

How the president can blithely make such ignorant economical comments is beyond comprehension.

One of the greatest life lessons my father and mother taught me was how to save and budget money. Budgeting begins with depositing money in a savings account at a bank to be used at a later date when needed. My father did not spend money we did not have. My father always made sure we lived within our means. Bills were paid by the end of the month and always on time. The outcome of making good financial decisions is that my parents were never in debt.

Saving and budgeting money has also always been embraced by every church where I have ever been a member. The importance of being good stewards of money, get this, guarantees that the pastors will receive their salaries, the utility bills will be paid, and missions all around the world will be supported. Our Methodist church in Frankfort spends a great deal of time thinking about how money generously given from those in the congregation should be spent, or better yet, not spent. We had the same gig going on at First United Methodist Church in Logansport.

The federal government, on the other hand, spends a great deal of time not budgeting, all the while negligently and willy-nilly spending money it does not have. Does. Not. Have.

The situation is repugnant. Both sides of the isle are at fault. And the president needs to get his act together and stop assigning fault.

If my husband and I went about running our finances as does the federal government, our house would be taken away, there would be no money to help support our church, our children would be sent to foster care, and a host of other unthinkable things.

Meanwhile, back at the Vatican, newly elected Pope Francis, God love him, is on a mission to defend and help the poor, disadvantaged and downtrodden.

Which is exactly what all of us will be if the Republicans and Democrats do not begin working together.

During his installation Mass, Pope Francis said: “Today, amid so much darkness, we need to be the light of hope and to be the men and women who bring hope to others.”

Members of Congress and Mr. President, take heed, listen carefully, and please, turn on that light of hope and emerge from the darkness.

Alvia Lewis Frey is a columnist for the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at alewisfrey@aol.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.