Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 14, 2013

OUR VIEW: Which is the right way to go?

In the Cold War era, civil defense planners took their fear of nuclear attack on the road. Traveling to towns across the country, they warned that residents could be trapped on crowded two-way streets in the case of an attack. With these roads being the only escape routes and the threat of more casualties, officials converted streets in city centers to one-way.

Traffic would speed up and lives would be saved.

Then came the interstate system, killing the threat of gridlock. Next came suburban malls and the advent of a car culture that had city dwellers moving to the suburbs. That caused a lack of traffic flowing into downtowns and their one-way streets were left to serve as mini-speedways immune to the idea of sidewalk strolling.

But as the nation looks again to its downtowns, pouring money and hope into a revival, many towns are returning to two-way traffic. And so continues the long-standing debate over which direction is better.

And now Logansport finds itself in that debate.

Though Logan’s Landing’s Pam Leeman and Kathy Dingo have been leading the charge to enact the change, Leeman notes it isn’t their idea. Rather, it is included in a comprehensive plan authored by the city in 2009.

And it’s a proposal that’s getting a warm welcome from downtown businesses already approached, she said. Of the 180 or so businesses in the downtown area, Leeman has talked with around 20 percent of the owners to get their feelings on the proposed change. That’s admittedly a low percentage, but she said she’s just getting started.

That’s the key here, she stressed Wednesday to city officials. The conversation is just beginning, and already the proposal is facing a backlash from residents.

Leeman argues that residents don’t know enough about the proposal to already be against it.

We have to agree.

She believes that when residents learn the full breadth of what the project hopes to accomplish, they’ll come on board.

She points to our neighbors in Kokomo, where the conversion was made a few years back. Take a trip through the city, she says, and you’ll see the downtown renewal fueled in part by the conversion.

She wants that for Logansport and believes this proposal will get us one step closer.

And when the state relinquishes control of several roads after the Hoosier Heartland Highway is finished, she sees an opportunity for the city to make it happen.

We understand there’s some apprehension from residents about what effects the changes will have on their daily commutes. And their questions about parking and pedestrian safety deserve answers.

But at this early stage in the game, we encourage residents to not just dismiss the plan on first blush.

Before making judgments on which way to travel, we encourage residents to get involved in the conversation and learn about the project’s pros and cons.

After all, like Mayor Ted Franklin says, traffic flow changes will be thrust on our community with the completion of the highway whether we like it or not.

If we all work together, we’re much more likely to like the outcome.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.