Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 13, 2013

OUR VIEW: Gambling a growing problem

National Problem Gambling Awareness Week may have ended Saturday, but those affected continue to face the effects on a daily basis.

If you’re thinking problem gambling can’t possibly be a problem here, think again.

At a meeting held last week to discuss the issue, Kathy Coffing said it’s a fast-growing problem. The gambling counselor at Four County Counseling Center called it “an almost hidden problem.”

The opportunities to gamble in Indiana have been on the rise for some time.

In 1978, there were only two states that had legalized gambling and in 1998, 20 years later, there were only two states without some form of gambling.

The Hoosier Lottery started in 1989.

The Indiana Riverboat Gaming Act was passed in 1993 allowing riverboat gaming in Indiana. The first of the allowed 10 casinos opened in 1995.

The Hoosier Park Horse Track opened in 1994.

Then came the Indiana Downs horse track in Shelbyville in 2002.

That brief history doesn’t even include off-track horse betting parlors, which opened in several cities around the state.

These are the things people think about when they think gambling.

What they don’t think about are Bingo, Bunco, pull-tabs and athletic bracket competitions like those used in the NCAA tournament.

It doesn’t matter what form the addiction takes, it’s still an addiction, Coffing tells us.

Problem gambling is described as behavior that causes disruptions in any major area of life: psychological, physical, social or vocational. To make matters worse, it’s a progressive addiction, meaning the affected will become increasingly preoccupied by gambling. That’s when addicts find themselves flirting with rock bottom. They start chasing losses and getting increasingly desperate.

If any of this sounds familiar, you may have a problem or know someone who does. What Coffey and the group presenting in Logansport last night week are trying to convey is that it’s OK to admit you need help. There are countless agencies across the state and country trying to pull gamblers out of the shadows.

Six million adults and 500,000 teens nationwide meet the criteria for gambling addiction. Are you one of them? We encourage you to find out here: www.indianaproblemgambling.org/GamblersTest.cfm

If you are, get help. Call Four County gambling counselor at 574-722-5151 ext. 2417. If that feels too close for comfort, call the Problem Gambling Help Line at 800-994-8448.

There’s help out there, including state-funded treatment for those who can’t afford it. Coffing said she has seen families fall apart because of an addiction. There are support systems in place for gamblers and their families.

Don’t let yourself hit rock bottom before you decide to do something about it.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.