Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 10, 2013

KNISELY: Take me to the prairie

— I always wanted to be a member of the Ingalls family. When I watched reruns of “Little House on the Prairie” as a kid, I would imagine myself right alongside Laura and Mary, wearing a bonnet and plain dress just like theirs.

When they went to the creek to get a pail of water, I would tag along. On the long walk to school, I was right beside them and Jack (for the non-fans, Jack was their dog.) I was on their team when they played ball at recess.

Sure they had troubles — it as pioneer times for crying out loud — and life wasn’t always easy. In fact, life was hard. But it all seemed so fun to my young imagination.

As an adult, I’ll admit I will stop on a rerun if I happen upon one while channel surfing. They still play them on the Hallmark Channel, in case you’re interested.

And now that I’m older, I find myself still yearning to join the Ingalls. But now it’s for different reasons than when I was a child. The world was smaller back then. Everyone was neighbors, and not just in a geographical sense. There really was an effort to pull together for the greater good. The value of community was alive and well in Walnut Grove.

Like any team, there was bound to be weak links, and Walnut Grove was no different. Just look at the Olesons. Well, except Mr. Oleson. He was that family’s only saving grace. But that was one family. The number of good people far outweighed the number of bad. It seems today we have way more Olesons than we do Ingalls. What would this crazy world be like today if it were the other way around?

And what if this world got a dose of Charles Ingalls’ optimism? No matter what they faced, Pa showed the family how to find the good in every situation.

What if this world got a dose of Caroline Ingalls’ faith? A dose of Laura Ingalls’ trusting nature? A dose of Manly’s work ethic?

It would likely change the world.

It makes me wonder, though. What if the Ingalls’ world got a dose of life today? What if they were met with today’s negativity? How would they respond to the untrusting masses who seek only the bad? Would they succumb to it or rise above it?

I’d like to think the Ingalls would remain shining examples in today’s world.

In fact, I think they would teach us a thing or two about life and how to live it.

If nothing else, it would make for good TV.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

 

 

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: Stuck in pertetual comma I misplace a lot of things: keys wallet gloves the dog's leash. Recently I misplaced something that may not seem very important unless you read that last sentence carefully. Then you will realize that believe it or not I can't find my comma. Yes it's

    April 25, 2014

  • FREY: More than just a piece of carpet The wall-to-wall, jade-colored carpet covers the floor in all but two bedrooms in our house. The carpet was just a couple of years shy of being brand new when we moved into our house in Frankfort in 1994. It was durable, easily hid the dirt, and matc

    April 25, 2014

  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.