Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

May 7, 2013

THEIR VIEW: U.S. needs to take another look

We welcome an investigation into the handling of intelligence related to suspects in the Boston Marathon bombing.

That probe may reveal little of value. There have been allegations that various government intelligence and law enforcement agencies had prior knowledge regarding the older bombing suspect that could have been used to thwart the attack.

However, that assessment may be nothing more than wishful thinking. Having some information isn’t the same as possessing the ability to unravel a plot.

It’s true that Tamerlan Tsarnaev, the now-deceased bombing suspect, was on a watch list assembled by the United States government. But it should be noted there are approximately 500,000 people on that list. Keeping close track on all of them is impossible.

Still, there have been allegations that information possessed by some federal agencies regarding Tsarnaev wasn’t shared with others. Again, that fact does not mean the bombing could have been prevented. But it may indicate some holes in the nation’s intelligence-gathering process.

After all, investigations of the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks determined a lack of information sharing by government agencies produced a crucial weakness in the ability of America to defend itself against such violence.

Also raising red flags regarding the capacity of law enforcement is the fact the FBI received information from Russia regarding Tsarnaev in 2011. But after an inquiry, the agency concluded there was no indication he posed a threat.

What may come out of an investigation into the history of the suspected Boston bombers is possible patterns of behavior that could be useful in identifying future threats. Obviously, the better law enforcement becomes in determining who’s a threat and who’s merely a complainer serves to improve public safety.

Significantly, this attack may lead to closer intelligence ties between the United States and Russia where Islamic extremism is concerned. Tsarnaev hailed from a region rife with anti-Russian activity, with Islamists seeking independence from Russian control.

In many ways, it makes little sense that an Islamic radical from that region would target the United States — thus dragging this country into an ongoing dispute and siding with Russia. But be that as it may, America and Russia now appear to have a common security interest to address.

And if radical Islamic organizations are broadening their reach, even nations that see each other as intelligence rivals may find good reason to cooperate in key areas.

— New Castle (Pa.) News

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.