Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

June 9, 2013

Letters

Where are those jobs?

In his first legislative session, Indiana Gov. Mike Pence passed up an opportunity to create 30,000 new jobs and boost our economy by more than $3 billion. That’s something I don’t think Gov. Mitch Daniels would ever have done.

This wasn’t some company that still needed to line up capital to build a factory three years from now. It wasn’t an investor looking for state incentives to gradually ramp up a business plan.

These jobs would have been immediate, and we all know they’re sorely needed.

You might ask yourself why Gov. Pence would do such a thing. The answer is simple: politics.

Expanding health insurance coverage under the Affordable Care Act would have created those jobs, and Gov. Pence, who came to us from the divisive halls of Congress, would rather let 400,000 Hoosiers go uninsured and take a pass on these new jobs to prove a political point.

You may agree or disagree with the premise of the Affordable Care Act, but it’s hard to disagree with 30,000 jobs and increased access to quality health care.

The Indiana Hospital Association and a number of other organizations supported the expansion because it’s the right thing to do for our neediest populations and for our economy.

Governors across the nation, including other conservative Republicans, are embracing the funding because it means jobs and insurance for residents.

I’m disappointed in Gov. Pence for putting politics over the best interests of Hoosiers again.

Paul Ulerick

Logansport

 

Manufacturing legislation appreciated

As president and CEO of the Indiana Manufacturers Association, I want to express our appreciation for the pro-manufacturing legislation supported by your state senator, Randy Head, R-Logansport, during this most recent session of the Indiana General Assembly. Specifically, Senator Head served as primary author of Senate Bill 521, Indiana New Markets Job Act.

Senate Bill 521, which was similar in design to the federal New Markets Tax Credit, would have provided a 39 percent state tax credit over a seven-year period for private investors willing to invest in businesses located in economically distressed areas. Studies of the federal tax incentive program indicate that manufacturers would likely have been one of the primary beneficiaries of the Indiana New Markets Tax Credit, if it would have become law.

Although Senate Bill 521 did not become law, Sen. Head was able to lead the bill through the Indiana Senate by a vote of 40-9 on Feb 18, 2013. Unfortunately, once the bill was approved by the Senate, it did not receive a vote in the House Ways and Means Committee and, consequently, failed to become law. Regardless, we appreciate Senator Head’s efforts as the primary author of the bill.

Indiana has the highest share of manufacturing as a percentage of private industry Gross State Product in the U.S. (29.7 percent), and the highest percentage of the workforce employed in (16.4 percent). Additionally, Indiana manufacturers generate over $74.2 billion in economic output annually – far and away the most of any other industry in the state – and employ over 490,000 Hoosiers at an average annual compensation of $70,400 – nearly $29,000 higher than other non-farm employers in the state. Therefore, legislation that is good for Hoosier manufacturers, such as the tax credit advocated by Senator Head, benefits the overall Indiana economy.

We commend Senator Head for his support of pro-manufacturing legislation.

Patrick J. Kiely

Indiana Manufacturers Association

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.