Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

December 9, 2010

A place to explore new worlds

If you haven’t been there lately, Sunday afternoon might be a good time to stop by the Logansport-Cass County Public Library.

The library recently wrapped up more than $850,000 in renovations, and officials have scheduled an open house Sunday to show off the results.

The library has much to be proud of.

For one thing, the project came in more than $20,000 under budget even though engineers had to address some structural issues to protect the building from damage caused by seismic activity.

According to the library’s director, David Ivey, the building is much stronger now than it was before.

The remodeled library includes a new computer lab and magazine and reading area upstairs, and it features a more open concept with improved lighting. The structure features higher ceilings, natural lighting and more seating.

Outside, the library has a new employee parking lot, a limestone sign, a security camera, a new front door, a new bike rack and new landscaping.

The library stayed open throughout construction. Temporary walls were built to shield the construction noise but patrons still had to deal with the smell of sealant and dust from cutting concrete.

The result is that usage is down about 2 percent compared to last year, but library officials are hoping that the number of library users will increase now that the renovation is finished.

A library is a community gathering place, a place for young and old to satisfy their thirst for knowledge.

It’s a place to develop a love of books, a place to curl up in a corner and enter a whole new world. It’s a place where you can travel thousands of years into the past or hundreds of years into the future just by opening the cover of a book.

It’s a magical place made even more welcoming by the recent renovation project. Stop by on Sunday to take a look.

And go back often.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.