Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 19, 2012

KITCHELL: A problem that goes beyond guns

In various communities across the nation, the debate continues over how to prevent another school tragedy such as the mass killing of children in Newtown, Conn., last week.

While some have made this moment a time for a discussion on gun control — and this is an appropriate time to have that discussion — it also is a time to look beyond the gun issue as a way to solve the problem.

If every legal gun owner did what one did last Friday to more than 20 people who were innocent, unarmed victims, guns would be outlawed. Even if there were more stringent gun laws, what happened in Connecticut may not have been stopped by a law. Laws have a way of being broken every day.

What is clear is that  the shooter in this case — and in several others — had problems beyond carrying guns. While the nation has been proactive in passing legislation such as the Brady Bill to screen handgun sales, the nation has done little to screen adults and children for mental illnesses – or enough to treat them properly.

Granted, we don’t know whether mental health treatment could have prevented  this tragedy. What we do know is that this person was a recluse who had a history of social problems. What we do know is that a congresswoman named Gabby Giffords of Arizona nearly lost her life and some around her at a town meeting did lose theirs.

To that end, we no longer have those types of meetings in Logansport and many other communities because of the potential threat of violence. What we do know is that a gunman also killed innocent people in Colorado who were simply trying to enjoy a movie drama and didn’t want a real-life drama that left customers dead.

These problems occur when places such as Four County Counseling Center in Logansport, Peru, Rochester and Winamac are not adequately funded to serve the people who truly need services. Since there is a stigma attached to mental illness and the mental health industry has a limited political influence in Washington and state capitals, the need for funding to deal with chronically mentally ill people may not be met. There are few public service ads describing what mental illness is and where treatment can be found. There are few insurance companies that aggressively tout the benefit of mental health treatment as a necessary coverage because it adds cost to premiums.

But if we all could pull together and work just a bit harder at ensuring there is treatment available for those who need it and that those who need it know where to get that treatment, tragedies that can’t be prevented with more gun control or locks on school doors could potentially be prevented.

On Friday, this issue affected Newtown, Conn., worse than anything else in the community’s history. It could affect Logansport, Peru, Rochester, Delphi or Winamac tomorrow. Because of that, it potentially affects us all.

Dave Kitchell is a columnist for the Pharos-Tribune. He can be reached at ptnews@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.