Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

December 18, 2012

OUR VIEW: Don't forget to file that pink form

Hoosier homeowners have a deadline coming up to keep their homestead exemptions.

Failing to file the required verification form will mean that you’ll lose your exemption next year, and that could be expensive. The exemption knocks $45,000 off the taxable value of your house, so losing that exemption could easily double the tax bill of the average homeowner.

It’s entirely possible that you’ve already filed.

The Cass County Auditor’s Office included the forms with tax statements mailed out in 2010, and if you filled out the form that year, you haven’t seen the pink form again. Those who ignored the form or laid it aside have gotten the form in each of their subsequent tax bills. So you might have filed it last spring or even 2 years ago.

A few weeks ago, the auditor’s office sent post cards to about 2,800 property owners it knew hadn’t filed. Many of them responded, but there are still a few who need to take action.

Filling out the form isn’t difficult. You can pick one up in the auditor’s office on the first floor of the County Government Building, or you can even fill it out online.

The goal here is to eliminate fraud. State officials want to make certain that homeowners aren’t claiming more than one homestead exemption.

You’re allowed to claim the exemption on only one property, your primary residence.

The form asks for the last five digits of your drivers license and the last five digits of the Social Security number. If the system finds another exemption with a duplicate number, your exemption will be rejected.

Anyone who loses a homestead exemption for failing to file the verification form will have to file again, and that will mean going without the exemption for at least a year.

So if you’re one of those homeowners who hasn’t filed a form, now is the time to act.

The task takes only minutes, and the tax savings you’ll realize as a result will be more than worth the effort. Take a few minutes today to make sure you’re covered.

What to do

To find out if you already applied, call the Cass County auditor’s office at 574-753-7720

Apply online at www.co.cass.in.us/dav/auditor/auditor.html or get an application at the county auditor’s office, 200 Court Park, Logansport.

Applications must be file stamped by Dec. 31

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.