Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 14, 2012

OUR VIEW: A Good Neighbor gets a break

A magical moment happened last weekend when Logansport resident Missy Iles showed up at the Mike Anderson Chrysler dealership to pick up her 20-year-old van after repairs.

The dealership had decided that rather than repair the van she had been using for her many volunteer efforts, it would simply replace the van with a model nine years newer in recognition for all of her good works.

Iles covered her eyes and started weeping when her pastor, the Rev. Clark Miller of Trinity Episcopal Church, gave her the news.

“I can’t quit crying,” she said. “I’m just thrilled. I don’t have to be afraid any more. I can go get whatever I need.”

The Pharos-Tribune had recognized Iles with a Good Neighbors award last year.

She was among the organizers of the backpack program that now provides food on the weekend for youngsters at all four Logansport elementary schools. She established an annual school supply distribution through her church as well.

She’s also involved with rummage sales for underprivileged families and with regular Peanut Butter and Jam open mic fundraisers at the Neighborhood Tavern.

Iles’ van had taken her on numerous supply runs for the various programs, including several trips to the Food Finders food bank in Lafayette, before breaking down last month.

Iles regularly drives as far as Indianapolis to buy supplies. On one such trip in November, she hit a deep pothole while her van was loaded with several cases of writing paper for a school supply drive. The mishap caused serious damage to the van, leaving it lopsided. Her daughter, Beth Kite, took the van to the dealership, where mechanics determined it couldn’t be repaired.

Kite’s friend, Melanie Kelley, shared the story with dealership owners Mike Anderson and Bill Thompson and general manager Terry Osborn, and the three decided to replace the old van. Iles’ family and friends kept the secret until Saturday when Iles showed up to pick up her vehicle.

The 1992 van had an estimated 270,000 miles on it. The 2001 model the dealership gave her as a replacement has about half that.

The Christmas season brings about the best in all of us and helps to make stories like this one possible.

For folks like Iles, though, the season of giving lasts all year round. We applaud her again for her community service, and we salute the Mike Anderson Auto Group for its generosity.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.