Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

November 30, 2012

OUR VIEW: A great Christmas classic

Here’s a great way to get into the Christmas spirit: Take in one of the performances of “It’s a Wonderful Life” at McHale Performing Arts Center.

Most of us know the story. The kind-hearted George Bailey has reached his wits’ end. He’s faced with financial ruin, and he decides he would be much more use to his family and friends if he just jumped off a bridge and ended it all.

George’s guardian angel, Clarence Oddbody, comes up with the perfect distraction. He jumps into the river first, forcing George to jump in and save him.

Much of the rest of the play is about Clarence showing George that he’s wrong about the life he’s led. He shows George the much less welcoming place his hometown would be if George had never been born.

The movie version of “It’s a Wonderful Life” appears frequently on television at this time of year, and it offers a message that never really goes out of style. The world would certainly be a better place if we were all a bit more like George Bailey and put the needs of others ahead of our own.

The local performance has a veteran cast and crew.

Director Ted Denton has been directing plays for more than 30 years. Jeff Carnagua, who plays George Bailey, has had starring roles in numerous productions and has appeared in more than 40 shows over the past dozen years. You’ll see lots of other familiar names on the cast list.

Cast members have been practicing their lines and staging for 10 weeks now, Denton said, and they’re ready to perform.

“They’ve been ready for some time now,” he said. “They just need an audience.”

That would be you. Carve out some time this weekend to catch one of the shows.

You’ll be glad you did.

 

WANT TO GO?

What: “It’s a Wonderful Life” presented by Civic Players of Logansport and the Logansport Performing Arts Council

When: 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Saturday and 7 p.m. Sunday

Where: McHale Performing Arts Center, 1 Berry Lane

Cost: Tickets are $15 and can be purchased at the McHale box office.

For more information: Call the box office at 574-753-4116.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.