Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

July 13, 2014

OUR VIEW: Corporations are now Average Joes?

Do corporations have souls? Can corporations go to church? Can they fast?

These aren’t questions one might expect serious adults to pose. But with its earth-shattering pronouncement June 30 in the case of Burwell v. Hobby Lobby, the U.S. Supreme Court has ensured a steady torrent of such ludicrous queries for years to come.

In his majority opinion in the 5-4 decision, Justice Samuel Alito interpreted the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993 to mean closely held, for-profit corporations can hold religious beliefs, a novel concept.

Alito, though, claims the scope of this ruling is narrow, applying only to Hobby Lobby’s objections to employee Affordable Care Act coverage of female contraception.

“Our decision should not be understood to hold that an insurance-coverage mandate must necessarily fall if it conflicts with an employer’s religious beliefs,” he wrote.

In her fiery dissent, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg blasted it as a “decision of startling breadth.”

“The Court … sees nothing to worry about,” she wrote. “The Court, I fear, has ventured into a minefield … by its immoderate reading of RFRA.”

This verdict builds on the landmark 2010 case, Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission, which said corporations had First Amendment rights.

Taken together with the Hobby Lobby judgment, it’s not at all alarmist to ask what might be next for corporate personhood.

On July 2, “Fresh Air” host Terry Gross of National Public Radio shared a light moment with Adam Liptak, Supreme Court correspondent for the New York Times, during her wrap-up of the court’s term. Gross contrasted these recent pronouncements with the possibility of justices taking up the same-sex marriage issue next year.

“The Supreme Court has given corporations certain religion rights and freedom-of-speech rights,” Gross said. “To not give gay people full rights, such as the right to marry, would that — that seem —”

“Well, maybe they could have the right to merge,” Liptak said.

“Gay corporations could marry each other?” Gross said, laughing.

That might sound like a joke, but very soon it might not sound so ridiculous.

THE ISSUE Decision of Burwell v. Hobby Lobby OUR VIEW It's not at all alarmist to ask what might be next for corporate personhood.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit TX Gov Perry in Washington: 'Confident' in Case Hospital Releases Two Missionaries Who Had Ebola Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle NYC Doctor-in-chief Seeks Community Approach Indonesian Police Fire Tear Gas at Protesters Raw: Shots Fired in Liberian Shantytown DOJ, Bank of America Reach Record Settlement Raw: Cubavision Airs Images of Fidel Castro Raw: Grief After Deadly Airstrikes in Gaza Officer Who Pointed Gun at Protesters Suspended Kathy Griffin Challenges Minaj to 'a Booty Off' Johnson: Six Arrests, No Tear Gas in Ferguson Raw: Rescue, Relief Efforts at Japan Landslide Cadavers, a Teen, and a Medical School Dream California Drought Stings Honeybees, Beekeepers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.