Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

July 1, 2014

VILLAGE IDIOT: What's wrong with soccer anyway?

Have you been watching the World Cup? I have, even though I don’t know the rules, or if there are any — beside the obvious one that you can’t use your hands, except when you can use your hands. But mostly it seems you can’t.

That seems to be a pretty good rule that would improve almost any sport. Golf would certainly be a much more exciting sport if players had to kick the ball into the hole, or use the club with their feet. Tennis would be absolutely thrilling. And calling American football “football” would finally make sense. Why do they call it “football” when most of the time, the players are holding the ball in their hands or passing it with their hands? At least have the common decency to call it “foot and hand ball.”

It turns out I’m not alone in watching the World Cup: The TV ratings for the World Cup are beating the NBA Finals and some World Series games, and the matches aren’t even on network television. Just cable. And when you see World Cup matchups like Portugal vs. Ghana, Korea vs. Belgium or Greece vs. Cote d’Ivoire, it suddenly becomes clear that what baseball so egotistically calls the “World Series” is really just a regional championship of some minor sport. Baseball’s about as much of a “world” sport as hurling or hot dog eating.

And then there are the soccer fans. They are even more insane than the rows of shirtless, drunken men who show up at NFL games spelling out their team’s name on their guts in the middle of an ice storm. Sheesh, it’s like those guys aren’t even trying.

Remember the vuvuzela debacle in South Africa four years ago, when a stadium full of horn-honking fans drove millions of people to turn off their TVs? That’s what real fans do: get people to stop enjoying the game. There’s nothing like traveling a long way to see your favorite team, spending a lot of money on tickets, maybe spending even more money for parking and a hotel room, and then having to sit behind a group that unfurls a massive banner that says “Go Team!” and blocks your view of the game. But this year, vuvuzelas, large banners and other annoying items have been banned from World Cup stadia. Not to worry, though — a lot of World Cup fans like to show up in outfits that seem to have fallen off the back of Lady Gaga’s tour bus.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • FREY: An ode to service days gone by There were many times in the past year that I walked by the small glass corner curio cabinet.I often glanced at the photographs from the corners of my eyes as I made my way past the nurse’s station and out the pass-coded locked doors.It is one of man

    August 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Looking out for youth and e-cigarettes Technology, it seems, finds solutions for just about everything. So it should surprise no one that the tobacco industry, under siege for years for marketing and selling unhealthy products, found a way around the anti-smoking fervor through a smoke-le

    August 22, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A matter of bad habits Mary Ellen and I have been happy together for so long that we sometimes forget how much we annoy each other, so on the trip back home from our recent vacation, it was time catch up on our bad habits.For example, I told Mary Ellen that she is a relent

    August 22, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.