Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

July 27, 2013

OUR VIEW: Keeping kids from hunger

Have you ever tried to focus on something when you’re hungry? It seems the harder you try to the focus on the task at hand, the louder your stomach growls.

Now, imagine you’re a kid and ask yourself that question again. How hard would it be to focus on the teacher when the sound of your stomach growling becomes deafening?How embarrassed would you be if you feared others could hear your stomach growling from the next desk over? How much would you hate Fridays because it means your access to food is gone until Monday morning rolls back around? How long would the weekend be? How could you do your homework when all you want is something to eat?There are many kids in Cass County that are living these questions. Not having access to food on the weekend is a stark reality of their lives. That’s no life to live.It’s a problem the Thompson Totes Backpack program is trying to solve. Getting off the ground in November 2010, the program was serving 65 families in Southeastern School Corp. During the 2012-13 school year, an average of 85 families benefited weekly from the service.Volunteers prepare bags of food that are sent home with students on Friday to feed them over the weekend. So far, more than 21,000 pounds of food has gone home with hungry children.In the time the program has been running, volunteers will tell you they’ve learned just how needed the service is. Children return each week eager to pick up their backpacks. To many of us, it’s just a bag of food. To these kids, it’s life-changing.And now the program is looking to change even more lives. It’s expanding for the 2013-14 school year and will serve kindergarten through third grade at Thompson Elementary School, as well as expand to provide weekend food for grades four through six at Galveston Elementary School. They expect to serve 125 children this year. You can help. There are different levels of sponsorship: $190 will provide one child with weekend take home food for one full school year; $95 will provide one child with weekend take home food for one semester; and $6 will sponsor a child for one week.To become a sponsor, send your donation to Thompson Totes, P.O. Box 447, Walton, IN 46994.You may also send your contribution directly to United Way of Cass County, 401 E. Broadway, Logansport, IN 46947. Be sure to write Thompson Totes in the memo line.We’re sure they’d appreciate any help you could give.

THE ISSUE Lack of weekend food stark reality for some children. OUR VIEW Thompson Totes Program is trying to solve the problem and could use your help.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.