Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

November 8, 2013

WOLFSIE: Burning out of control

The big story this past month is not that one of our big stars (Miley Cyrus) is twerking, but that one of our medium-sized stars may someday stop working. I am talking about our sun, but Miley’s prospects for future employment might also be dimming.

This end-of-the-world prediction comes courtesy of astrobiologist Andrew Rushby, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of East Anglia in Great Britain, where life already ended unofficially for fellow students three weeks ago when the administration began prohibiting Guinness.

Rushby used what he calls “classic models” to help make his futuristic predictions.

Averaging it all, Rushby’s final conclusion is that earth will be uninhabitable somewhere between 1.75 billion years and 3.25 billion from now. At first, this prediction really scared me because I thought it said a million years. Whew! Rushby, who first trained as a meteorologist, is also saying that the final day the earth exists, whenever it is, will be cloudy with scattered showers and a really good chance of record heat. Yes, it’s hard to imagine complete and total desolation. Think Antarctica in the winter or MCL at 9 p.m. By the way, it’s going to happen on a Friday, so dress casual.

How exactly will it all end? This British scientist claims that “high temperatures will lead to more evaporation, creating unbearable humidity, and ending finally in catastrophic scorching.” By the way, this is also how people die in a tanning salon. There is some good news. Rushby says that if we are good stewards of the earth we could squeeze out an extra weekend or two, which may not seem like much, but for those on spring break that year, that’s really a huge difference.

Assuming we have at least a couple hundred thousand years’ notice, Rushby has a few ideas “where earthlings might want to move.” It’s hard to take this advice seriously because the only time I ever hear the word earthling is when I’m watching Twilight Zone reruns. Mars will probably be habitable longer than Earth, so before this world ends, we will have plenty of time to move to Mars. Then in a truly optimistic note he claims that The Red Planet would be a great place to watch the sun go through its final self-destruction. Remember, it’s never too soon to get tickets for these kinds of events. Personally, I’m not a fan of watching the final death throes of anything, although I did enjoy the last Rolling Stones concert.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.