Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

August 16, 2013

Thorns & Roses

Investing in our future

The Pharos-Tribune extends the following Rose to the A. Raymond company, owners of A. Raymond Tinnerman in Logansport:

With something close to $4 million invested over the last year, the A. Raymond family-owned company is sure leaving its mark on Logansport. And it’s a good one. The company’s local fastener plant once teetered on the brink of closure, but has become a competitive force in the global market since A. Raymond bought the old Elco manufacturing plant in 2009. It’s gotten a facelift this spring and summer, most of it through local contractors, and plant manager Keith Holms estimates some $2.5 to 3 million more will be invested per year in the plant for the next several years. Not only does that keep business flowing into Logansport, it keeps our skilled workers employed.

Up from the ashes

The Pharos-Tribune extends this Rose to Sublette’s Ribs in Monticello:

Like the song from children’s favorite “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” says, “up from the ashes grow the roses of success.” That seems to be the case with Sublette’s Ribs in Monticello, which literally grew from the ashes of a fire June 20, 2012, that engulfed the family-owned eatery. Sublette’s reopened this summer just three days before the first anniversary of the fire, thanks to friends, patrons and local businesses who helped owner Dan Sublette, his brother-in-law and his head cook rebuild. And now, Dan Sublette said business is better than he thought it would be after the prolonged closure. A big congrats to a small business overcoming such a setback.

Big steps for little feet

The Pharos-Tribune extends this Rose to area children returning to school this week:

Boarding the big yellow bus can be pretty scary, especially if you’re 6 years old and it’s your first time. We congratulate all the area youngsters who on Tuesday and Wednesday braved the unknown to start their first week of the 2013-14 school year. Some of you held tight to Mom, Dad, Grandma or your older sibling as you walked in the doors, and maybe some of you cried — just a little. It’s okay. And some of you older kids waltzed into the hallways like it was just another day in Loganland. We’re proud of you, too, and we’re sure you’ll keep at it till you get the chance to turn that tassel.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.