Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

August 11, 2013

OUR VIEW:

Some will be eager to get back, and some will just be wishing they were still in bed. Whatever the case may be, they’ll all be doing the same thing this week — heading back to school.

Local schools will be back in session Tuesday and Wednesday. It’s a busy time for parents, kids and teachers. It’s also an important time for the rest of us. Now’s the time for motorists to make a mental note that they’ll soon share the road with buses and the kids waiting to board them.

Law enforcement officials soon will be reminding motorists to slow down and watch for young pedestrians.

Motorists should pay special attention in areas where children are present during the morning and afternoon hours. Drivers should be prepared to stop for children who may dart into streets near school zones, bus stops and in neighborhoods.

Children are especially vulnerable in areas with vehicles parked along the street, in high-traffic areas, along roads with higher speed limits and in areas without pedestrian crosswalks.

Vehicles are required to stop when a school bus stop arm is extended. Failure to do so is a Class B misdemeanor that could result in 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Police will be watching for those disregarding stop arms or speeding in school zones.

Parents should also discuss school bus safety with their children. State police note most children are injured while trying to pick up dropped items within a 10-foot area surrounding the bus. Parents need to remind their children that when they lean down to pick up something, they’ll be dropping out of the bus driver’s view. Kids should always be sure to stay where the bus driver can see them, and they should always keep their books and papers in their backpacks until they’re safely home.

By thinking about safety first, students and parents throughout the area should be able to enjoy a happy and safe beginning to the new school year.

THE ISSUE Local schools starting back this week. OUR VIEW It's time for drivers to slow down and watch for young pedestrians.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.