Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

July 2, 2013

MARCUS: Mixed messages of income data

“So, like how are we doin’?” Eva LaFever asks. “We’re makin’ progress? We’re slippin’ back, maybe?

“Truthfully,” I say, as if I were accustomed to lying, “we’re making progress, albeit slowly and unevenly.”

“How’d ya know? What with all the ups and the downs on the stock market, how’s a person to figure out what’s goin’ on?” Eva says.

“Well,” I say, pausing to give authority and authenticity to my comments, “every three months the Bureau of Economic Analysis in the U.S. Department of Commerce puts out quarterly reports on the economy of each state.”

“Ya don’t say,” she says.

“And the latest report,” I continue, “indicates Indiana is doing better than the nation mainly because we did not do as well in the previous quarter.”

“Are ya tryin’ to confuse me or does it just come natural-like?” Eva asks.

“Let me try to explain,” I offer. “In the last quarter of 2012 everyone correctly anticipated that payroll taxes would go up at the start of this year. So employers who were going to give out bonuses made sure they gave them out before 2012 ended, thereby avoiding having to pay those higher tax rates.

“Nationwide, personal income grew at an annual rate of 2.7 percent. In Indiana, however, where bonuses are not as frequently given or are less generous, the increase was just 1.8 percent. That put us in 40th place in the growth rate for personal income in the 4th quarter.”

“Why don’t Hoosiers get the same kind of bonus as them other folks?” Eva says with some indignation.

“Seems,” I reply, “we aren’t big in financial services and corporate offices where the big bonuses are given.”

“But ya said we wus doin’ better than the nation?” Eva complains.

“We did do better than the nation in the first quarter of 2013,” I answer. “Because the payroll taxes did go up and because the big bonuses were not being paid, personal income actually fell by 1.2 percent nationally, but was only minus 0.9 percent in Indiana. We came out of the first quarter in 11th place nationally.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.