Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

June 28, 2013

WOLFSIE: A very bad oxidant

Ever since my wife retired she has a lot more time to read, including Prevention magazine, an annoying little publication that makes you worry about nearly every aspect of your life.

The big topic in each month’s issue is antioxidants in our food, which the editors claim “shield us against free radicals that inflame our artery linings, turn normal cells cancerous, damage our eyesight, increase obesity and visibly age us.” When given a choice, I rather read Bride Magazine in the doctor’s office.

According to an article by Jo Robinson, excerpted from her book “Eat on the Wild Side,” prehistoric man had superior food, far richer in vitamins and minerals than modern-day fare. Of course, those guys had a lifespan of only 22 years, which meant they never had to raise a teenager. I’d have thought that would add an extra 20 years, easily.

Most depictions of early man show pretty grumpy faces. You never see a Neanderthal with a smile, or a Cro-Magnon laughing. Why are they unhappy? The author makes it clear: “Generations of agricultural manipulation has taken the ‘medicine’ out of our foods.” Yes, how depressing: just a couple of decades to live and their strawberries tasted like Lipitor.

The writer is a bit obsessed with how corn has diminished in nutritional value over the millennia. She claims that corn is much too sweet nowadays. (Yeah, that’s a common complaint you hear at the farmer’s market on a Saturday morning.) The author instructs the reader on how not to cook corn, advising against “ripping off the husks, stripping the silk and putting the naked ears into the water.”

Other fruits and vegetables have also faltered. The writer claims there was once an apple that had 100 times the antioxidants that most fruit has today. Sadly, someone has already eaten that apple. This magazine has nothing but bad news.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: Stuck in pertetual comma I misplace a lot of things: keys wallet gloves the dog's leash. Recently I misplaced something that may not seem very important unless you read that last sentence carefully. Then you will realize that believe it or not I can't find my comma. Yes it's

    April 25, 2014

  • FREY: More than just a piece of carpet The wall-to-wall, jade-colored carpet covers the floor in all but two bedrooms in our house. The carpet was just a couple of years shy of being brand new when we moved into our house in Frankfort in 1994. It was durable, easily hid the dirt, and matc

    April 25, 2014

  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.