Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

January 25, 2013

Thorns & Roses

Thanks for helping after passing

The family of Clarence Peck sends this Rose to whose who helped during the time of need:

“The family of Clarence Peck would like to thank our family and friends for their kindness and help at the time of his recent passing on Dec. 29. We express gratitude to the Rev. K.C. Denhing of St. James Lutheran Church, the Rev. Marvin Hinkle, the Ladies Guild at St. James for our lovely family meal, Ann Hansen for her music and the congregation for all their support during this time.

“A heartfelt thanks to Fisher Funeral Chapel and to Mark Strong and the Local 47 Firefighters for their participation in the service and the ‘Last Alarm’ as we passed Central Fire Station. Also to all who called, visited, sent cards, flowers and memorial gifts in our time of need. We appreciate all who helped in any way, your thoughtfulness will not be forgotten.”

Proud of our community

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to those who showed support for cancer victim at basketball game:

Staff in the newsroom listened intently as a letter received earlier this week from Logansport’s Jinner Richason was read aloud. She wrote to tell us about how proud he was to watch the community’s outpouring of support at a Lewis Cass vs. Northwestern varsity basketball game. A man stood before the crowd gathered at the game to tell the plight of a mother fighting cancer without the backing of her insurance company. She told us how the crowd was quick to dig in their pockets and more than $3,200 was collected on the spot to help the family.

Reading the letter, we shared in Richason’s pride for the community and thank them for making a difference in not only the life of the woman affected, but everyone gathered in that gymnasium.

Foundation getting everyone involved

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to the Cass County Community Foundation for its effort to focus on smaller communities:

We applaud Cass County Community Foundation’s desire to keep the needs of the county’s smaller communities in its sights. And organizers are well on their way, holding their first public meeting in Walton on Wednesday evening. It was the first of its kind in the organization’s 25-year history.

The Walton community seemed to appreciate the gesture, turning out 60 residents to the meeting to discuss what was wanted for the town. The meeting was made even sweeter as the foundation promised more than $1,200 for a local grant for the residents who made the effort to get involved.

Thanks to all who are playing an active role in making a brighter future for Walton.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.