Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 6, 2013

OUR VIEW: City must stick to word on grant projects

The issue: Logansport is set to receive more than $600,000 in grant money to address roads and crosswalks near a school and to study potentially contaminated properties around town.

Our view: While we commend the city for working hard toward obtaining these grants, we were grateful to hear they will be proper stewards of city funds and make sure neither grant goes over budget.

In the middle of last year, the Washington Business Journal reported that six Defense Department modernization projects were over budget by a combined $8 billion. Eight billion dollars. That’s the same amount of money the Southern Stock Exchange is reportedly buying the New York Stock Exchange for in a deal made in December.

Years ago and overseas in Australia, the beautiful Sydney Opera House — arguably the city’s signature symbol recognized around the world — was originally set to cost about $7 million in 1957. The budget for that project was blown by 14 times the estimate.

Project proposals are visions and getting the projects funded are dreams. But going over budget can be a nightmare.

This week, Logansport is set to accept a more than $246,000 grant from the Indiana Department of Transportation to build sidewalks and crosswalks around Fairview Elementary. City Council members at a finance meeting Thursday vowed to stay within the budget of the award.

Furthermore, the city received $330,000 of a more than $600,000 grant to study Brownfield properties, or properties with potential for hazardous materials, throughout Logansport. On Monday, council members will consider — and likely approve barring any blindside surprise — creating a fund for each of these pools of money.

First off, kudos to the previous administration who began the Brownfield process and the current administration for following through with the project. Honestly, $330,000 is nothing to blink at. It was through great determination that Logansport received it. And hats off to Community Development Director Chris Armstrong who helped spearhead efforts to obtain the Fairview Elementary Safe Routes to School grant and beginning to make her mark on the city in her role.

But as the start of work for both projects appears around the corner, each and every player in these projects — from contractors and their workers to councilmen and their constituents — need to hear the words spoken by veteran Councilman Jeremy Ashcraft resonate in their heads.

“If the bids come in high, we do what we can with what we got,” he said at Thursday’s finance meeting.

This council painstakingly bounced back and forth during 2013 budget talks to make sure it was not overspending or over-committing itself in the first budget of the Republican-dominated council. We hope it does the same with grants it receives.

We’re happy that the city received these grants and are ready to get things started. We’ll be happier when the receipts come in and the council takes Ashcraft’s advice.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.