Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 6, 2013

OUR VIEW: City must stick to word on grant projects

The issue: Logansport is set to receive more than $600,000 in grant money to address roads and crosswalks near a school and to study potentially contaminated properties around town.

Our view: While we commend the city for working hard toward obtaining these grants, we were grateful to hear they will be proper stewards of city funds and make sure neither grant goes over budget.

In the middle of last year, the Washington Business Journal reported that six Defense Department modernization projects were over budget by a combined $8 billion. Eight billion dollars. That’s the same amount of money the Southern Stock Exchange is reportedly buying the New York Stock Exchange for in a deal made in December.

Years ago and overseas in Australia, the beautiful Sydney Opera House — arguably the city’s signature symbol recognized around the world — was originally set to cost about $7 million in 1957. The budget for that project was blown by 14 times the estimate.

Project proposals are visions and getting the projects funded are dreams. But going over budget can be a nightmare.

This week, Logansport is set to accept a more than $246,000 grant from the Indiana Department of Transportation to build sidewalks and crosswalks around Fairview Elementary. City Council members at a finance meeting Thursday vowed to stay within the budget of the award.

Furthermore, the city received $330,000 of a more than $600,000 grant to study Brownfield properties, or properties with potential for hazardous materials, throughout Logansport. On Monday, council members will consider — and likely approve barring any blindside surprise — creating a fund for each of these pools of money.

First off, kudos to the previous administration who began the Brownfield process and the current administration for following through with the project. Honestly, $330,000 is nothing to blink at. It was through great determination that Logansport received it. And hats off to Community Development Director Chris Armstrong who helped spearhead efforts to obtain the Fairview Elementary Safe Routes to School grant and beginning to make her mark on the city in her role.

But as the start of work for both projects appears around the corner, each and every player in these projects — from contractors and their workers to councilmen and their constituents — need to hear the words spoken by veteran Councilman Jeremy Ashcraft resonate in their heads.

“If the bids come in high, we do what we can with what we got,” he said at Thursday’s finance meeting.

This council painstakingly bounced back and forth during 2013 budget talks to make sure it was not overspending or over-committing itself in the first budget of the Republican-dominated council. We hope it does the same with grants it receives.

We’re happy that the city received these grants and are ready to get things started. We’ll be happier when the receipts come in and the council takes Ashcraft’s advice.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.