Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 19, 2013

OUR VIEW: Now is the time to prepare for disaster

September is designated as National Preparedness Month. We’re more than halfway through the month. Are you more prepared for a natural disaster now than you were when the month started?

If your answer is no, you still have time to make a plan.

It’s not hard. It’s not expensive. It is, however, like going to the gym. You dread going and complain the whole time you’re there, but you feel better when you’re done.

Same goes for putting together an emergency plan. It’s a pain to do and it seems pointless, but you’ll feel better once it’s done because you’ll know your family is better prepared to survive a catastrophe. When disaster does strike, there is much that’s out of our control. Being prepared puts more things under your control and increases your chances of survival.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security suggests residents prepare themselves by adopting a goal of being self-reliant for three days. A winter storm, tornado or flood can cut you off from grocery stores and services, including immediate response from police or fire protection. Officials encourage residents to collect enough supplies to get them through three days.

So, how do you do prepare for three days on your own? Make a plan. Get a kit.

Work with family and neighbors to make an emergency plan — such as where to go, how and where to meet and what to do in case of an emergency. Go to ready.gov/make-a-plan for free downloadable emergency plan templates.

Preparedness kits are not a one-size-fits-all situation. Kits should include the essentials that fit the household’s needs and budget. Don’t know where to start? Visit ready.gov/build-a-kit.

If you’re worried about costs, think ahead and try to accumulate extra items over time by using coupons and hitting sales. Wait to buy supplies at the end of a season when there are good deals. Don’t wait for the storm to hit the news before hitting the store. You’ll pay a fortune later.

The No. 1 thing you can do to protect yourself is to start now. Even if it’s just one simple thing, do it now. Taking the first step is always the hardest, but it’s also the one that gets you moving toward your goal.

And keeping you and your family safe seems like a pretty good goal.

THE ISSUE OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.