Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

September 19, 2013

OUR VIEW: Now is the time to prepare for disaster

September is designated as National Preparedness Month. We’re more than halfway through the month. Are you more prepared for a natural disaster now than you were when the month started?

If your answer is no, you still have time to make a plan.

It’s not hard. It’s not expensive. It is, however, like going to the gym. You dread going and complain the whole time you’re there, but you feel better when you’re done.

Same goes for putting together an emergency plan. It’s a pain to do and it seems pointless, but you’ll feel better once it’s done because you’ll know your family is better prepared to survive a catastrophe. When disaster does strike, there is much that’s out of our control. Being prepared puts more things under your control and increases your chances of survival.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security suggests residents prepare themselves by adopting a goal of being self-reliant for three days. A winter storm, tornado or flood can cut you off from grocery stores and services, including immediate response from police or fire protection. Officials encourage residents to collect enough supplies to get them through three days.

So, how do you do prepare for three days on your own? Make a plan. Get a kit.

Work with family and neighbors to make an emergency plan — such as where to go, how and where to meet and what to do in case of an emergency. Go to ready.gov/make-a-plan for free downloadable emergency plan templates.

Preparedness kits are not a one-size-fits-all situation. Kits should include the essentials that fit the household’s needs and budget. Don’t know where to start? Visit ready.gov/build-a-kit.

If you’re worried about costs, think ahead and try to accumulate extra items over time by using coupons and hitting sales. Wait to buy supplies at the end of a season when there are good deals. Don’t wait for the storm to hit the news before hitting the store. You’ll pay a fortune later.

The No. 1 thing you can do to protect yourself is to start now. Even if it’s just one simple thing, do it now. Taking the first step is always the hardest, but it’s also the one that gets you moving toward your goal.

And keeping you and your family safe seems like a pretty good goal.

THE ISSUE OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.