Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

May 31, 2013

OUR VIEW: Watch out for children this summer

LOGANSPORT — With schools out around the area, motorists should keep their eyes open for an increased number of children playing outside.

As you drive, scan the area around you, looking for youngsters playing near the street. Children can be unpredictable and unaware of the danger around them. Keep in mind that a child might suddenly dash into your path.

Watch out for crosswalks, and be alert for people who might step off the curb and into your path.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security and area law enforcement agencies remind parents never to allow children to walk anywhere alone, whether to the store, a friend’s house or the neighborhood park.

Never allow children to play outside alone. Police warn that predators sometimes cruise neighborhoods looking for unsupervised children. Police urge parents to take turns keeping an eye on neighborhood children or enlist a trustworthy family member to do so.

Kids riding bikes, roller blades or skateboards should always wear helmets, and make sure your kids know they should always stop at stop signs and look right, left and then right again before crossing the street.

Kids should protect their skin and eyes from the sun’s harmful rays by using sunscreen and wearing sunglasses, and they should never play unsupervised near streams, pools, retention ponds or other bodies of water.

Falls are the leading cause of non-fatal injuries for children up to the age of 19. Every day, about 8,000 children are treated in U.S. emergency rooms for fall-related injuries. Make sure the playground equipment your child uses is properly designed and maintained and that there’s a soft landing area below.

Youngsters work best in threes, and when one child heads home, the others should go home, too.

Call the police if you see a suspicious person or vehicle roaming the neighborhood, and make sure your kids know how to dial 911 in an emergency. Children should also know their addresses and their parents’ names and phone numbers.

Summer can be a wonderful time in the life of a child, with opportunities for adventure. But one careless mistake can turn that fun into tragedy.

Let’s all do what we can to keep our children safe.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.