Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

April 25, 2013

OUR VIEW: Building inspections needed now

LOGANSPORT — In the short time since we turned the calendar over to 2013, two downtown buildings have collapsed.

First, it was the historic Greensfelder building at 313 E. Market St. Collapsing Jan. 30, it was soon demolished after crews found the structure couldn’t be stabilized.

Then, just last week, the building at 208 N. Sixth St. was demolished after a portion of it collapsed.

What do these two situations have in common?

Luck.

They could have played out much differently, but we’ve been lucky — lucky no one was inside the structures at the time of their collapse or happened to be the poor soul walking nearby when the walls started coming down.

But, luck runs out.

If you guessed the commonality is that both buildings were really old, you’d be right, too. With 100- and 125-year-old buildings sprinkled throughout the downtown landscape, we’re glad to see the city is taking notice of the problem.

Building Commissioner Bill Drinkwine told us last week the city is working to establish a regular inspection schedule for the privately owned properties. It’s necessity has become painfully obvious. Frankly, it’s something we were surprised wasn’t already in place.

The city plans to inspect the older properties in the future. That future needs to be sooner rather than later.

We understand it’s not what city officials had planned for their time and resources at this juncture, but sometimes plans have to change, especially when public safety is at stake.

And while we believe establishing a schedule for regular inspections is in order, we believe emergency action is required now. As soon as possible, since they pose the greatest risk, we would like to see multi-story structures be inspected.

The city is constrained not only by lack of time and money, but also by hurdles that crop up with these privately owned properties.

But city officials tell us they can inspect and cite for violations. That’s as fine a place to start as any. And while an inspection might not get the building fixed or at the very least maintained by the owner, it will let us know when a collapse could be imminent. We could then take preventative measures to keep everyone safe.

And furthermore, if it gets to the point of collapse, there’s less chance of saving the building. And at the rate which we’re losing historic buildings downtown, we need action now.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.