Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 25, 2013

OUR VIEW: Building inspections needed now

LOGANSPORT — In the short time since we turned the calendar over to 2013, two downtown buildings have collapsed.

First, it was the historic Greensfelder building at 313 E. Market St. Collapsing Jan. 30, it was soon demolished after crews found the structure couldn’t be stabilized.

Then, just last week, the building at 208 N. Sixth St. was demolished after a portion of it collapsed.

What do these two situations have in common?

Luck.

They could have played out much differently, but we’ve been lucky — lucky no one was inside the structures at the time of their collapse or happened to be the poor soul walking nearby when the walls started coming down.

But, luck runs out.

If you guessed the commonality is that both buildings were really old, you’d be right, too. With 100- and 125-year-old buildings sprinkled throughout the downtown landscape, we’re glad to see the city is taking notice of the problem.

Building Commissioner Bill Drinkwine told us last week the city is working to establish a regular inspection schedule for the privately owned properties. It’s necessity has become painfully obvious. Frankly, it’s something we were surprised wasn’t already in place.

The city plans to inspect the older properties in the future. That future needs to be sooner rather than later.

We understand it’s not what city officials had planned for their time and resources at this juncture, but sometimes plans have to change, especially when public safety is at stake.

And while we believe establishing a schedule for regular inspections is in order, we believe emergency action is required now. As soon as possible, since they pose the greatest risk, we would like to see multi-story structures be inspected.

The city is constrained not only by lack of time and money, but also by hurdles that crop up with these privately owned properties.

But city officials tell us they can inspect and cite for violations. That’s as fine a place to start as any. And while an inspection might not get the building fixed or at the very least maintained by the owner, it will let us know when a collapse could be imminent. We could then take preventative measures to keep everyone safe.

And furthermore, if it gets to the point of collapse, there’s less chance of saving the building. And at the rate which we’re losing historic buildings downtown, we need action now.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.