Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 25, 2013

OUR VIEW: Building inspections needed now

LOGANSPORT — In the short time since we turned the calendar over to 2013, two downtown buildings have collapsed.

First, it was the historic Greensfelder building at 313 E. Market St. Collapsing Jan. 30, it was soon demolished after crews found the structure couldn’t be stabilized.

Then, just last week, the building at 208 N. Sixth St. was demolished after a portion of it collapsed.

What do these two situations have in common?

Luck.

They could have played out much differently, but we’ve been lucky — lucky no one was inside the structures at the time of their collapse or happened to be the poor soul walking nearby when the walls started coming down.

But, luck runs out.

If you guessed the commonality is that both buildings were really old, you’d be right, too. With 100- and 125-year-old buildings sprinkled throughout the downtown landscape, we’re glad to see the city is taking notice of the problem.

Building Commissioner Bill Drinkwine told us last week the city is working to establish a regular inspection schedule for the privately owned properties. It’s necessity has become painfully obvious. Frankly, it’s something we were surprised wasn’t already in place.

The city plans to inspect the older properties in the future. That future needs to be sooner rather than later.

We understand it’s not what city officials had planned for their time and resources at this juncture, but sometimes plans have to change, especially when public safety is at stake.

And while we believe establishing a schedule for regular inspections is in order, we believe emergency action is required now. As soon as possible, since they pose the greatest risk, we would like to see multi-story structures be inspected.

The city is constrained not only by lack of time and money, but also by hurdles that crop up with these privately owned properties.

But city officials tell us they can inspect and cite for violations. That’s as fine a place to start as any. And while an inspection might not get the building fixed or at the very least maintained by the owner, it will let us know when a collapse could be imminent. We could then take preventative measures to keep everyone safe.

And furthermore, if it gets to the point of collapse, there’s less chance of saving the building. And at the rate which we’re losing historic buildings downtown, we need action now.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.