Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

March 17, 2013

KNISELY: Is it me or just a virus?

— I opened up Thursday’s paper and found something so cool I just had to have it. On the Life & Style page, we featured a story about making your office your own and showing your personality through unique decorations. For anyone who’s stopped by my office, you know I’ve got that covered.

What I don’t have is the amazing tea cup in the picture. It’s clearly vintage and bears a winking woman’s face. I want one.

So I get to Googling, thinking it’s a long shot. I start with very vague queries: winking+

woman+cup+vintage. One search result would offer a new clue, which I would add to the next search. A handful of searches later, I found it!

Turns out the tea cup dates back to the early 1950s. It was a promotional Lipton Tea cup produced in Staffordshire, England. They were made in male and female versions, but I didn’t like the guy one so much as the girl I saw in the paper.

I found the cup’s dimensions, learned it was featured on a television show in the ’50s, and there were reproductions of sorts made in the 1990s in China as a premium product for Bailey’s Irish Creme.

I found there had been several for sale on different sites, but couldn’t find any available now. I was bummed I couldn’t order one now, but at least I have a new reason to hit the vintage and antique stores!

Struck by how I was able to find the item on the Internet with so little to go on, I was thinking I would write this week’s column about how wonderful of a tool the Internet is.

And then it happened.

My screen went black and a notice from the Department of Homeland Security took over. It seems I had visited an unauthorized site and now I was facing a $300 fine or my computer would not be relinquished to me. It even had a handy box to add my account information to pay said fine.

It seems I caught a virus from the tea cup.

I called someone smarter than me to fix it. While he was working, a columnist came in to check on his weekly submission.

Since my computer was out of commission, I went to another computer in the newsroom to check on it. When I tilted the screen upward to see better, it went black and then slowly came back on. That was weird. No luck on the email, but he brought a flash drive with him. I went to another computer to download the file. I hit a button to wake it up. When it came up, it crashed.

I started to entertain the idea that the computer virus somehow had infected me personally, but I wasn’t convinced that was possible.

One thing, though, was certain.

I axed the idea of telling you all how wonderful the Internet is.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. Reach her at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

 

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.