Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

June 23, 2013

No name but that of papaw

My wife did a double take when I told her years ago I wanted our yet unborn grand-children to call me “papaw” instead of something else.

As a son of rural Kentucky, I wanted to honor the history of that beloved title. Besides, I knew she wouldn’t like it.

Today, 15 years and 16 grandchildren later, she still doesn’t like the title but has finally, even begrudgingly, accepted it

Her personal preference is “grandma” and that’s OK with me but, try as I might, I could not relate to that term or to “grandpa” because of my own upbringing.

One of my grandfathers was called “Big Dad” and the other was “Granddad.”

One grandmother was just “Granny” and even other adults called her by that name. I don’t recall learning her real name until I was about 10. It was Olive.

My other grandmother demanded she be addressed as Minnie, her given name, because she said she wasn’t old enough to be called “grandmother.”

I remembered that with a smile years later when she died at the age of 100, a few months after telling a newspaper reporter that she was older than dirt.

In actuality, she didn’t like her legal name either, saying there had been only two living creatures in history named Minnie – she and her father’s favorite mule.

The first names of my two grandmothers gave my father a great way to tease my mother when my only sister was born.

For about 48 hours, Dad was telling family and friends that she would be named “Minnie Olive.”

Mom got the last laugh, however, by giving her a middle name that no one could spell.

But let’s go back to “papaw” and why I wear that title with pride.

I usually tell folks who ask why I like it that it’s because of its roots in the rural South and because I believe it conveys more feeling than other names for grandfathers.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.