Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

June 17, 2013

BOWYER: When bad days turn into bad weeks

Flowers were planted at my house because someone thought my place was a little drab, and I would be the last one to argue with you about that. I haven’t planted any flowers since Janie has been gone, and they do look pretty. Flowers are nice, and about the only thing wrong with them is that they have to be watered which always involves a bucket or a hose. I have a spigot down by my garage door and I have attached a hose to it and ingeniously run it above my west garage door and hooked it to a hose reel in my side yard above the basement level. It works fine but when I hooked it up this year the hose had a leak in it. I don’t know why, but there it was.

	A visitor and I decided to buy a new hose and hook it up, which we did. The visitor and I were both a little careless inasmuch as I was turning the hose reel at an angle that would allow her to pull hose off of the reel at the same time she decided to yank the hose. The result was that my hand was trapped between the crank and the reel support and all of the skin was ripped off of the top of my left middle finger. Things got a little gory and my visitor thought she had ought to lie down on the bed while I bandaged my finger. She felt a little sick, she said. I felt a little sick, too, when I looked down and saw all of that skin torn loose and realized it would never grow back. That meant I had to tear it the rest of the way off to clear the area for bandaging, which I had to do all alone.	Now, I don’t know about the rest of you, but that’s the start of a bad week for me, and it was about to get worse. My frost-free spigot, which the hose attached to wouldn’t turn off. Hello, new spigot, yes indeed. My first stop on the quest for a new frost-free spigot was Logan Lumber Co. They had some and I bought an 8-inch one, which looked like it might be a little short. They had 8-inch ones, and 12-inch ones, but no 10-inch ones, which turned out to be the one I needed. After trying the eight-incher and finding it too short, I returned it and continued my quest. My next stop was Rural King, and they had none at all. On to Home Depot, which had all sizes of them. The only trouble was they had a larger nut on them than my old one did.	 I had my old one with me and after comparing them, it appeared to me that the nut was too large on the new one to pass through the hole I had in my wall. I voiced an opinion to that extent, but having no other recourse, I decided to take one home and try it. I was right, it wouldn’t go through the basement wall, so I had another return on my hands. Am I the only one who gets into these messes?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Hospital Releases Two Missionaries Who Had Ebola Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle NYC Doctor-in-chief Seeks Community Approach Indonesian Police Fire Tear Gas at Protesters Raw: Shots Fired in Liberian Shantytown DOJ, Bank of America Reach Record Settlement Raw: Cubavision Airs Images of Fidel Castro Raw: Grief After Deadly Airstrikes in Gaza Officer Who Pointed Gun at Protesters Suspended Kathy Griffin Challenges Minaj to 'a Booty Off' Johnson: Six Arrests, No Tear Gas in Ferguson Raw: Rescue, Relief Efforts at Japan Landslide Cadavers, a Teen, and a Medical School Dream California Drought Stings Honeybees, Beekeepers Officer Who Pointed Gun at Protesters Suspended US Mission to Rescue Hostages in Syria Failed
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.