Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

June 17, 2013

BOWYER: When bad days turn into bad weeks

Flowers were planted at my house because someone thought my place was a little drab, and I would be the last one to argue with you about that. I haven’t planted any flowers since Janie has been gone, and they do look pretty. Flowers are nice, and about the only thing wrong with them is that they have to be watered which always involves a bucket or a hose. I have a spigot down by my garage door and I have attached a hose to it and ingeniously run it above my west garage door and hooked it to a hose reel in my side yard above the basement level. It works fine but when I hooked it up this year the hose had a leak in it. I don’t know why, but there it was.

	A visitor and I decided to buy a new hose and hook it up, which we did. The visitor and I were both a little careless inasmuch as I was turning the hose reel at an angle that would allow her to pull hose off of the reel at the same time she decided to yank the hose. The result was that my hand was trapped between the crank and the reel support and all of the skin was ripped off of the top of my left middle finger. Things got a little gory and my visitor thought she had ought to lie down on the bed while I bandaged my finger. She felt a little sick, she said. I felt a little sick, too, when I looked down and saw all of that skin torn loose and realized it would never grow back. That meant I had to tear it the rest of the way off to clear the area for bandaging, which I had to do all alone.	Now, I don’t know about the rest of you, but that’s the start of a bad week for me, and it was about to get worse. My frost-free spigot, which the hose attached to wouldn’t turn off. Hello, new spigot, yes indeed. My first stop on the quest for a new frost-free spigot was Logan Lumber Co. They had some and I bought an 8-inch one, which looked like it might be a little short. They had 8-inch ones, and 12-inch ones, but no 10-inch ones, which turned out to be the one I needed. After trying the eight-incher and finding it too short, I returned it and continued my quest. My next stop was Rural King, and they had none at all. On to Home Depot, which had all sizes of them. The only trouble was they had a larger nut on them than my old one did.	 I had my old one with me and after comparing them, it appeared to me that the nut was too large on the new one to pass through the hole I had in my wall. I voiced an opinion to that extent, but having no other recourse, I decided to take one home and try it. I was right, it wouldn’t go through the basement wall, so I had another return on my hands. Am I the only one who gets into these messes?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.