Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

June 17, 2013

BOWYER: When bad days turn into bad weeks

Flowers were planted at my house because someone thought my place was a little drab, and I would be the last one to argue with you about that. I haven’t planted any flowers since Janie has been gone, and they do look pretty. Flowers are nice, and about the only thing wrong with them is that they have to be watered which always involves a bucket or a hose. I have a spigot down by my garage door and I have attached a hose to it and ingeniously run it above my west garage door and hooked it to a hose reel in my side yard above the basement level. It works fine but when I hooked it up this year the hose had a leak in it. I don’t know why, but there it was.

	A visitor and I decided to buy a new hose and hook it up, which we did. The visitor and I were both a little careless inasmuch as I was turning the hose reel at an angle that would allow her to pull hose off of the reel at the same time she decided to yank the hose. The result was that my hand was trapped between the crank and the reel support and all of the skin was ripped off of the top of my left middle finger. Things got a little gory and my visitor thought she had ought to lie down on the bed while I bandaged my finger. She felt a little sick, she said. I felt a little sick, too, when I looked down and saw all of that skin torn loose and realized it would never grow back. That meant I had to tear it the rest of the way off to clear the area for bandaging, which I had to do all alone.	Now, I don’t know about the rest of you, but that’s the start of a bad week for me, and it was about to get worse. My frost-free spigot, which the hose attached to wouldn’t turn off. Hello, new spigot, yes indeed. My first stop on the quest for a new frost-free spigot was Logan Lumber Co. They had some and I bought an 8-inch one, which looked like it might be a little short. They had 8-inch ones, and 12-inch ones, but no 10-inch ones, which turned out to be the one I needed. After trying the eight-incher and finding it too short, I returned it and continued my quest. My next stop was Rural King, and they had none at all. On to Home Depot, which had all sizes of them. The only trouble was they had a larger nut on them than my old one did.	 I had my old one with me and after comparing them, it appeared to me that the nut was too large on the new one to pass through the hole I had in my wall. I voiced an opinion to that extent, but having no other recourse, I decided to take one home and try it. I was right, it wouldn’t go through the basement wall, so I had another return on my hands. Am I the only one who gets into these messes?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.