Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 16, 2014

THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today

There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention.

That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president’s term of office to the disastrous prohibition on alcohol.

A convention has never been used — except in 1787 when the Founding Fathers snuck off to Philadelphia with the purpose of correcting problems with the Articles of Confederation, the first documents our country was based on. They corrected the Articles right out the window, and the rest is Constitutional history.

This time around, proponents want a very narrowly defined convention to deal with the government’s budgetary issues — basically balancing the budget.

We are skeptical, at best. As American politics now stand, either nothing would be accomplished and everybody would tuck tail and head for home, or they would throw the Constitutional baby out with the bathwater.

Proponents say the convention would be limited to prevent governmental chaos. Again, skeptical.

First, every interest group would rally their troops and flood the streets. Participants would undoubtedly tweet every jot and title that went on.

Remember, the first convention was pretty secret with no leaks. That allowed what was the cream of the young republic’s intellectual crop to work without distraction.

That would be impossible today.

Sure, let’s limit discussion to the budget. But a good lawyer might argue that could be expanded to economics or commerce in general. That would open up to everything, because everything impacts, and is impacted by, commerce.

Don’t believe us?

Try federal civil rights legislation. Most of it is based on the Commerce Clause in the Constitution, which gives Congress the power to regulate interstate commerce.

Or federal gun control. Again, based on the Commerce Clause.

And once a usable document was produced, it would be litigated to death, and all those interest groups would be saying “just one little thing, if you could add it in somewhere.”

Our Constitution has survived more than 200 years. In that time we’ve changed it, and hopefully improved it. Just like we have changed, and hopefully improved.

— Chronicle-Tribune, Marion

THE ISSUE Talk of a Constitutional convention. THEIR VIEW In today's world, it's an idea that just won't work.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.