Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 15, 2014

MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome

Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.”

Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.”

“You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really happening in our state.”

“No,” I responded, “you’re the one who reads the Happy News spewed by politicians and boosters. I look at the data and what I see is dim.”

“We’re doing just great,” Jim said. “New businesses opening all the time, and existing firms expanding all over the state.”

“So,” I asked, “you’ll agree the recession is over?”

“Absolutely over for Indiana,” he asserted, “because we have a great business climate.”

“Then how do you explain the fact,” I asked, “that average monthly private sector jobs in Indiana for 2013, as reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, were nearly 2 percent (49,200) below the pre-recession 2007 level? Our population is growing and we have fewer jobs than six years earlier?

“Further,” I pressed, “our average weekly earnings, for those on wages and salaries in the private sector, were up only 8 percent (about $59).”

“Not bad, if you’re asking me,” Jim replied.

“Not bad, if you’re forgetting inflation was 12 percent during that period,” I said. “The average Hoosier worker saw wages fall by almost $30 per week in buying power over those six years.”

“Small change,” Jim said.

“Maybe at your income level in your community,” I said.

“Don’t get personal,” Jim objected.

“It is personal,” I insisted. “Where you live and what you earn in Indiana says much about what you think of Indiana. In the Columbus, Lafayette and Indianapolis-Carmel metropolitan areas the number of jobs increased. But in every one of the other 13 metro areas which include Hoosier counties, the number of jobs has not recovered to pre-recession levels.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.