Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

November 8, 2013

THEIR VIEW: An opportunity for special needs to go to college

For many parents of children with special needs, it’s hard to hear their child might never get a diploma or go to college. Franklin College aims to change that.

A new partnership between the college and Special Services Johnson County will allow students with special needs who have attended four years of high school to move on to college like other students their age. Students in the program will spend one to two years at the college, taking one college course a semester, and work in the community.

The college emphasizes the importance of universal respect for its students, and having students with special needs in classes with college students, learning right beside them, will help teach that everyone deserves to be treated the same and have the same opportunities, according to David Brailow, Franklin College vice president for academic affairs.

And students coming from the high schools will have the chance to branch out and learn about something they might never have had the chance to, he said.

Ten to 12 students in special education classes will get the chance to take certain core courses at Franklin College each semester. Some students will work at the college, and others will work at local businesses such as restaurants or social service agencies.

The students will not receive credit for the classes and will attend as auditors or guests, Brailow said.

Families won’t have to pay for the courses, which are being paid for with a Center Grove Education Foundation grant. Only students from Franklin and Center Grove high schools will be able to participate this semester. Students from all Johnson County school districts will be able to apply for the program next year.

The goal is to make students in the program employable, Special Services Johnson County transition coordinator Megan Horsley said. Having a job is a requirement, and by the end of their time at the college they should have the ability to keep a position and get to work on their own. Not all students will be able to participate. Only those who are ready to move on, based on teacher and parent opinions, will be able to participate, she said.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.