Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 17, 2013

WILLIAMS: Nothing is as black and white as you had planned

My mother is in a nursing home temporarily — a beautiful new one in Wabash, Wellbrooke. It sometimes takes me two or three times to get the name right. (Wellbridge? Wellstone? Wellborough?)

Mom had a stroke about 10 days ago. I knew something was wrong as soon as she got up because her speech was completely garbled. I called her doctor who told me to take her to the emergency room. She was in the hospital for five days until they sent her to Wellbrooke for rehab.

In addition to the speech problem, the stroke left her with weakness on her right side. She can’t use her right hand and her right leg can’t be trusted to hold firm. The worst side-effect though is difficulty swallowing. She’s been on a puree diet. Pureed roast beef loses something in the translation.

It is strange how life has a habit of testing your most long-held beliefs. My husband had always said he’d never go through the hassle of cancer treatment if he ever got the Big C. But when the time came and his doctor said he’d live two months without any treatment but closer to two years if he agreed to chemo and radiation, he signed on the dotted line without hesitation. (He lived 19 months).

Now, Mom. I had always sworn I’d never put my mother in a nursing home (which I very carefully call a “rehabilitation facility” to her) unless she became totally bedfast. I never thought about swallowing. The main concern is that she will aspirate food into her lung and get pneumonia. That is a situation I don’t feel qualified to deal with.

And living wills. Mom and I have both had one forever. We both blithely signed off on no extraordinary efforts to save us, no feeding tubes. We both agreed to Do Not Resuscitate orders. Then they said at Wellbrooke that if they couldn’t get her swallowing under control, they might have to resort to a feeding tube in order for her to receive proper nutrition, I had to re-evaluate. I am her power of attorney and those difficult decisions are mine to make.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.