Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

October 13, 2013

OUR VIEW: Do we want a dog park?

Does man’s best friend need a park of his own in Logansport?

Well, from the sounds of it, you just might get to decide.

A group of Logansport residents approached the parks and recreation board earlier this week in hopes of drumming up support for a dog park.

A driving force behind the initiative has been Elvira Cook, of Logansport. She’s being putting in the man hours to do research on other such endeavors in the surrounding area.

She presented her findings to the board and what those seeking the dog park would like to see happen. They envision a fenced-in park supervised by a monitor and equipped with controlled access via slide card. To gain access to the dog park, there would be a suggested membership fee of about $30 a year. Also, to gain membership, dog owners must have their animals spayed, neutered and up-to-date on inoculations.

Parks administrator Janet Fawley says she would love to provide the land for a dog park, since clearly the city is land heavy. But, she says, the parks department preferably would not run it. Instead, officials would like to see a community organization step up and serve that role.

But, all this applies only if the support is there.

Obviously, if there’s not widespread interest or support, it wouldn’t make sense to move forward with such a project. So, here’s the question on parks officials’ minds: What do you think? Does the city need a dog park? If a dog park were created, would you pay to use it? Do you agree with the restrictions on usage?

We’ve already received a smattering of response from readers on the subject. Readers on Facebook were divided, with some asking where can they sign up for a membership and someone saying the idea should be removed from the table.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.