Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 29, 2013

OUR VIEW: LPD wages new fight in meth war

In 2008, the Logansport Police Department busted nine methamphetamine labs in the city. The number has risen every year since then, except for a drop in 2011.

So far this year, the department has found 18 labs. That’s already double the 2008 number, and we have still have three months to go to close out the year. Clearly, meth is a problem.

Cass County ranks 17th in the state for numbers of meth labs discovered, seized and dismantled.

The fallout of the growing meth production can easily be seen. If nothing else, just open the paper. Barely a day goes by that we don’t publish a meth arrest in the police reports.

Clearly, it’s not a problem that’s going away anytime soon, and LPD knows that. The department has formed a Meth Suppression Unit to fight the scourge on our city known as meth.

The unit will consist of four officers who will conduct investigations regarding meth-related offenses by following up on citizen complaints and maintaining communication with local pharmacies, hardware stores and other related businesses that sell items that can be used to manufacture meth.

The war on drugs isn’t a new battle for LPD. Earlier this year, we reported on local law enforcement agencies teaming up with the Indiana Department of Child Services to crack down on drug use in households with children. That effort came about because a growing number of children were found to be living around the site of drug activity. Living in these environments exposes them to danger due to the drugs and the chemicals, which have led to explosions.

The Meth Suppression Unit, however, is a new way of fighting in this war. A big part of the new strategy is communication. Without the public’s help, there’s only so much this new unit will be able to accomplish. That’s why Police Chief Mike Clark is asking the public to be the department’s eyes and ears.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners return to fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week. When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putt

    August 18, 2014

  • LYONS: Climate change deniers resort to attacks Recently a friend posted a video on Facebook that he asserted would demolish the Godless theory of evolution. On it, a fellow sitting in a pickup and wearing a backward baseball cap smugly explained that Darwinian evolution contradicts the Second Law

    August 18, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Depression a disease, not a mood Robin Williams had it all.A picture perfect family — the supportive, doting wife and three loving children.Talent beyond belief.The admiration of the masses.Riches and all the luxuries they provide.Yes, Robin Williams sure did have it all.But he had

    August 17, 2014

  • KNISELY: Heading back to school It never ceases to amaze me the wildly different views my nieces have of getting ready to go back to school and actually going back to school every year. As school time approaches, they are ecstatic about all the stuff they get to do. One of those th

    August 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Deadly Landslides in Japan Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Arrests Witnessed in Ferguson Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Heavy Rains Flood Arizona Roads US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.