Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 29, 2013

OUR VIEW: LPD wages new fight in meth war

In 2008, the Logansport Police Department busted nine methamphetamine labs in the city. The number has risen every year since then, except for a drop in 2011.

So far this year, the department has found 18 labs. That’s already double the 2008 number, and we have still have three months to go to close out the year. Clearly, meth is a problem.

Cass County ranks 17th in the state for numbers of meth labs discovered, seized and dismantled.

The fallout of the growing meth production can easily be seen. If nothing else, just open the paper. Barely a day goes by that we don’t publish a meth arrest in the police reports.

Clearly, it’s not a problem that’s going away anytime soon, and LPD knows that. The department has formed a Meth Suppression Unit to fight the scourge on our city known as meth.

The unit will consist of four officers who will conduct investigations regarding meth-related offenses by following up on citizen complaints and maintaining communication with local pharmacies, hardware stores and other related businesses that sell items that can be used to manufacture meth.

The war on drugs isn’t a new battle for LPD. Earlier this year, we reported on local law enforcement agencies teaming up with the Indiana Department of Child Services to crack down on drug use in households with children. That effort came about because a growing number of children were found to be living around the site of drug activity. Living in these environments exposes them to danger due to the drugs and the chemicals, which have led to explosions.

The Meth Suppression Unit, however, is a new way of fighting in this war. A big part of the new strategy is communication. Without the public’s help, there’s only so much this new unit will be able to accomplish. That’s why Police Chief Mike Clark is asking the public to be the department’s eyes and ears.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: Stuck in pertetual comma I misplace a lot of things: keys wallet gloves the dog's leash. Recently I misplaced something that may not seem very important unless you read that last sentence carefully. Then you will realize that believe it or not I can't find my comma. Yes it's

    April 25, 2014

  • FREY: More than just a piece of carpet The wall-to-wall, jade-colored carpet covers the floor in all but two bedrooms in our house. The carpet was just a couple of years shy of being brand new when we moved into our house in Frankfort in 1994. It was durable, easily hid the dirt, and matc

    April 25, 2014

  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.