Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 29, 2013

KNISELY: Tis the season already?

Autumn is that special time of year when the heat of summer subsides and leaves behind brilliantly colored, cool afternoons.

It’s a time to listen to leaves run at the wind’s pace alongside you on a long walk.

It’s a time buy Christmas decorations.

Wait. What?

The box stores are already lining the shelves with their Christmas wares. If you missed them, they’re in the next aisle over from the Halloween decorations.

About this time every year, people start grumbling about the early arrival of Christmas on store shelves. It seems the complaining starts a little earlier each year, presumably because the stores unleash the caged animal a smidgen earlier with each passing year. Before we know it, there will be ornaments next to the pool chemicals.

Actually, that would make some of the really random ornaments make sense. Take, for example, the ornaments of flamingos and Santas wearing swim trunks. I have never understood those.

Normally, I fall victim to this retailing scheme of stretching out Christmas. I’ll peruse an aisle or two and get to thinking about Christmas. Then, my family and I will plan out days to gather for the holidays before the calendars get too full. And before I know it, this looking ahead has caused me to miss the beautiful season of autumn.

I often wonder if anyone is actually buying this stuff in late September or early October. I don’t see people with trees or ornaments in their carts. I don’t really even see many people shopping the aisles of Christmas goodies.

Is it not even about the sale of decorations this early in the game? Is it rather about getting people thinking about buying presents and other holiday necessities?

I think these will go down as unanswered questions, just like the Santa in swim trunks. I think there are some things we just aren’t meant to understand.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.