Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 27, 2013

THEIR VIEW: Police shooting is tragic reminder of how much we need to value those who serve

It was another domestic violence call, the kind of summons for help that police officers in this city and elsewhere respond to every day, almost every shift.

But this call cost Rod Bradway his life early Friday morning on the city’s northwestside.

The five-year veteran of the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department — a husband and father of two teenagers — was shot and killed when he answered a woman’s screams for help inside an apartment at the Eagle Pointe complex in Pike Township. Police say a man in the apartment — identified as 24-year-old Steven Byrdo — shot at Bradway, who fired back. Another officer killed the suspect.

Bradway died soon after at Wishard Hospital. But the woman and a child in the apartment whom he rushed to rescue are safe.

So often we take so much for granted about the men and women who patrol our streets, race to emergencies, enter dangerous settings day after day. Those dangers have been especially acute this summer, with homicides on the rise and other violence erupting regularly in neighborhoods throughout the city.

“The ongoing problem we have today is that we live in such a violent culture and so many people are carrying guns,” the Rev. Charles Harrison, who leads a crime prevention group, the Ten Point Coalition, said. “There is no regard for life, and police officers have to face that every day.”

Rod Bradway faced that reality Friday morning. A dispute. A gun in the hands of an angry man. A flash of violence. Lives lost, and others forever changed. The utter senselessness of it all is heart-breaking. The fact that such violence has become so routine, here and elsewhere, as to be no longer truly shocking is appalling.

By chance, city leaders have been locked in debate in recent weeks about how to raise the money to put more police officers on the streets and how to better compensate those who now serve. Given fiscal constraints, those aren’t easy questions to answer.

But Friday’s tragedy is a reminder of just how much we should value our police officers, how much they risk every day, how often as a community we need to say thank you to those who serve.

— The Indianapolis Star

THE ISSUE THEIR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.