Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 14, 2012

OUR VIEW: Downtown efforts earn recognition

Congratulations to both Logan’s Landing and the Walton Main Street organization on their recognition at a statewide Main Street conference last week.

Logan’s Landing had a particularly impressive performance. Not only did the organization win a design award for the Market Street pocket park that features a statue called “The Dancers,” Becki Harris was honored as the statewide director of the year and Pam Leeman was honored as one of three board members of the year.

The recognition came as a surprise to both Harris and Leeman, who thought they were attending to share in the glow of the recognition for Logan’s Landing.

Both, though, are more than deserving of their own.

Harris works hard in her role to promote Logansport’s downtown, organizing promotions and working with businesses to help them achieve their goals, and Leeman has teamed up with fellow board member Kathy Dingo to organize the annual “Dancing With Our Stars” fundraising event. Now heading toward its fourth year, the dancing event has raised well over $100,000 to support efforts to transform downtown Logansport into an arts and design district.

Just last week yet another pocket park took shape in the 400 block of East Broadway, and both Leeman and Dingo were on hand to oversee the project.

Walton’s Main Street organization also received an award for community impact for the work the group had done in painting buildings downtown. The idea behind the project was to spruce up some of the community’s more rundown buildings with an eye toward encouraging others to invest in their properties.

The efforts in both communities are clearly paying off.

Not only are the flowers, the pocket parks and the scattered artworks bringing beauty to downtown Logansport, more and more new businesses are opening there. Local merchants are chasing a dream by opening restaurants and shops in downtown’s historic buildings, and in the process, they are bringing new jobs and tax dollars to the community.

There is still much to do, of course. Both communities still have too many empty buildings downtown.

But the efforts of both organizations are showing progress. Both downtowns are growing more attractive and more vibrant.

It’s a long road to travel, but those involved in both efforts deserve recognition for the progress they have made so far.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.