Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 14, 2014

Thorns and roses, March 14, 2014

Building memories

The Pharos-Tribune extends this Rose to the Flora-Monroe Township Public Library:

Many fondly remember a childhood filled with hours of fun playing with LEGOs, that popular building-block toy that’s been around since 1932. Now that the Flora Library has launched the town’s own LEGO club, it’s a chance for today’s youngsters to get acquainted with the toy. At the same time, they’ll develop their creative side, tackling the open-ended challenge of thinking up a LEGO building and bringing it into being. We applaud the library’s leaders for figuring out an enjoyable and constructive activity for children to participate in — and we’re tempted to join in the fun.

Living a full life

The Pharos-Tribune extends this Rose to Mary Flowers Moore:

She was still volunteering at her church at 92 years old. Mary Flowers Moore was honored last week by Logansport Mayor Ted Franklin and a host of family, friends and neighbors who praise the “Mayor of Woodlawn” for her hospitality and generosity. She’s called a house on Woodlawn home for about 70 years — longer than many Logansport residents have been alive — and on her 94th birthday received a key to the city as well as a sign on the street where she lives, dedicating it to her. We’re glad to see people like Moore around to show us how life is done. Bravo.

No more time changes

The Pharos-Tribune extends this Thorn to whoever invented Daylight Saving Time:

We’ve heard Benjamin Franklin is to blame, though his work on Daylight Saving Time was satirical. Maybe it was President Franklin D. Roosevelt, who instituted a form of Daylight Saving Time during World War II he called “War Time.” Or perhaps we should all take George Vernon Hudson to task, since he was the New Zealand entomologist who in 1895 proposed a two-hour shift forward in October and back in March, though the idea didn’t catch on then. Although the history of Daylight Saving Time isn’t clear, it’s obvious Hoosiers are still grumbling over the headaches and confusion that results each spring from the time change. We’re holding you accountable ... whoever you are.

Your turn

Thorns & Roses is our staff’s compilation of the best and worst of the week, but if you have your own nominations, feel free to send them along for publication. Submissions of up to 400 words may be addressed to Pharos-Tribune, 517 E. Broadway, Logansport, IN 46947. Or you can email us at publicforum@pharostribune.com. Don’t forget to include your name, address and daytime telephone number.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.