Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 26, 2013

FRANKLIN: Working to keep jobs here

I vividly remember the picket line outside the city building in August 2011, where about 100 people stood against accepting Duke’s proposal to close the Logansport Municipal Utilities plant and stood for keeping local jobs, which prompted the Utility Service Board to keep looking at options.

A petition drive netted about 1,000 signatures and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Council 62 stood proud for our local workers. It was a clear message that we did not want to lose our local jobs and that we wanted to keep as much local control of our power generation plant as we could.

We couldn’t stand idle. We have already tried that approach and the results have been damaging to our economic success. Duke Energy has been a very good, trusted and reliable partner. Discontinuing the production of electricity and eliminating 35 good-paying jobs does not match up with the long-term needs and desires of our community. We saw coal prices rise from $42 a ton to $123 per ton and, subsequently, saw our

in-home price for electricity rise. In fact, unfortunately, we have among the highest cost of electricity in the northern half of the state. For as little as I have had to with that, I still feel the need to say, we as city, are sorry and we are working on a remedy.

I am proud to say, however, we have made substantial progress since the days of the picket line. We have earmarked $1.5 million toward the creation of a refuse-derived fuel plant to generate “green energy.” The entire $566 million project will be funded by private investment and none of it will be government money. Please allow me to go on the record: “The city of Logansport and/or the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have no capital investment whatsoever in the proposed power plant to be developed by Pyrolyzer LLC.” I would also like to point out that all of the $1.5 million development costs incurred in making the new power plant a reality will be reimbursed to the city of Logansport and/or the Logansport Municipal Utilities, according to state law. Bottom line: if we are successful in our negotiations and the new plant is constructed, taxpayer and ratepayer investment will total less than a cost of a piece of bubble gum. Zero!

In order to reverse the trend of being known as having the highest electricity cost, we must take substantial steps toward securing an affordable option for our electricity. Six weeks into taking office, this “green energy” project came across my desk and plans have evolved to a size that can truly turn our city’s economy and work force around.

Not only will our power plant work force double from 35 to 70 jobs once the new plant is operational, we have an initial commitment for an additional $90 million industrial development, with about 110 jobs when at its peak, as a spin-off from the power plant. There are more plans to open industry around the new plant that will work with the by-products of producing this electricity, and that means even more local jobs. Affordable energy will brings jobs to Logansport.

I pledge to all of our citizens that our administration will be as transparent with the plant development process and as helpful as possible to let our people know what requirements are needed for new jobs, what training is needed and when these jobs will become available. All we need are work-ready residents willing to learn the skills needed to make monumental project a true success story for our city.

Ted Franklin is mayor of Logansport. He can be reached at tfranklin@cityoflogansport.org or by calling 574-753-2551.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.