Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 26, 2013

FRANKLIN: Working to keep jobs here

I vividly remember the picket line outside the city building in August 2011, where about 100 people stood against accepting Duke’s proposal to close the Logansport Municipal Utilities plant and stood for keeping local jobs, which prompted the Utility Service Board to keep looking at options.

A petition drive netted about 1,000 signatures and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Council 62 stood proud for our local workers. It was a clear message that we did not want to lose our local jobs and that we wanted to keep as much local control of our power generation plant as we could.

We couldn’t stand idle. We have already tried that approach and the results have been damaging to our economic success. Duke Energy has been a very good, trusted and reliable partner. Discontinuing the production of electricity and eliminating 35 good-paying jobs does not match up with the long-term needs and desires of our community. We saw coal prices rise from $42 a ton to $123 per ton and, subsequently, saw our

in-home price for electricity rise. In fact, unfortunately, we have among the highest cost of electricity in the northern half of the state. For as little as I have had to with that, I still feel the need to say, we as city, are sorry and we are working on a remedy.

I am proud to say, however, we have made substantial progress since the days of the picket line. We have earmarked $1.5 million toward the creation of a refuse-derived fuel plant to generate “green energy.” The entire $566 million project will be funded by private investment and none of it will be government money. Please allow me to go on the record: “The city of Logansport and/or the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have no capital investment whatsoever in the proposed power plant to be developed by Pyrolyzer LLC.” I would also like to point out that all of the $1.5 million development costs incurred in making the new power plant a reality will be reimbursed to the city of Logansport and/or the Logansport Municipal Utilities, according to state law. Bottom line: if we are successful in our negotiations and the new plant is constructed, taxpayer and ratepayer investment will total less than a cost of a piece of bubble gum. Zero!

In order to reverse the trend of being known as having the highest electricity cost, we must take substantial steps toward securing an affordable option for our electricity. Six weeks into taking office, this “green energy” project came across my desk and plans have evolved to a size that can truly turn our city’s economy and work force around.

Not only will our power plant work force double from 35 to 70 jobs once the new plant is operational, we have an initial commitment for an additional $90 million industrial development, with about 110 jobs when at its peak, as a spin-off from the power plant. There are more plans to open industry around the new plant that will work with the by-products of producing this electricity, and that means even more local jobs. Affordable energy will brings jobs to Logansport.

I pledge to all of our citizens that our administration will be as transparent with the plant development process and as helpful as possible to let our people know what requirements are needed for new jobs, what training is needed and when these jobs will become available. All we need are work-ready residents willing to learn the skills needed to make monumental project a true success story for our city.

Ted Franklin is mayor of Logansport. He can be reached at tfranklin@cityoflogansport.org or by calling 574-753-2551.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.