Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 31, 2013

KNISELY: Is it junk or treasure?

They say, “One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.”

While that is true, there is a fine line between old junk and antiques. A friend and I went antique shopping last weekend in Indianapolis. I saw a lot of old junk trying to play itself off as antiques.

Have you ever noticed how nearly all antique stores have a few staple items? It makes you wonder if there’s a rule that says you must carry old McDonald’s promotional glasses and naked baby dolls to have an antique-dealer license. And then there’s the old school strawberry cookie jars you see everywhere. OK, I really like those.

Another item that makes the rounds is old lunch boxes. Talk about antique store staples. While they’re cool to look at and bring back a lot of elementary school memories, I just cannot believe how expensive they are. I’ve watched enough of the antique picking shows on TV to know that if you have the matching thermos, you have a gold mine. I know they were utility items and few people thought to keep them in mint condition, making them scarce and more valuable. But I have to tell you, when I hear them talk about it, all I really hear is the teacher from Charlie Brown. Wont wont, wont wont. It’s just a lunchbox, man!

Enough of that rant.

I was telling my mother about our shopping trip and what a bust it was. Not one to do any antique shopping herself, mom asked me if I saw any old promotional items from companies and stores. I hadn’t really, and thought it an odd question, so I inquired as to why she was asking.

She said she had a rather large collection of dolls and stuffed animals that companies sold years back. It was in the ’80s and ’90s, she said.

I remember this collection and just assumed she had gotten rid of it when we sold the homestead. Nope, they are all in storage tubs in her garage.

She was convinced they’d be worth something so she held onto them. Again, after watching all those TV shows, I thought she might be onto something because they’re advertising memorabilia, which is a big thing I guess.

So she started telling me about what she had and I started Googling. The first one I found came back with a value of less than $10, which is likely less than she paid for the item in 1995.

She just couldn’t believe it, so threw out another item. This one has to be worth something, she said.

Google says no.

So another item came, and another Google search. After many, many rounds of this, the most valuable item I found was worth a whopping $14.

Understandably, she was frustrated. She thought for sure she was sitting on a gold mine and thought the longer she sat, the more valuable it was going to get.

I almost felt bad delivering the news to her: Sorry, Mom, your stuff is junk.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.