Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 31, 2013

KNISELY: Is it junk or treasure?

They say, “One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.”

While that is true, there is a fine line between old junk and antiques. A friend and I went antique shopping last weekend in Indianapolis. I saw a lot of old junk trying to play itself off as antiques.

Have you ever noticed how nearly all antique stores have a few staple items? It makes you wonder if there’s a rule that says you must carry old McDonald’s promotional glasses and naked baby dolls to have an antique-dealer license. And then there’s the old school strawberry cookie jars you see everywhere. OK, I really like those.

Another item that makes the rounds is old lunch boxes. Talk about antique store staples. While they’re cool to look at and bring back a lot of elementary school memories, I just cannot believe how expensive they are. I’ve watched enough of the antique picking shows on TV to know that if you have the matching thermos, you have a gold mine. I know they were utility items and few people thought to keep them in mint condition, making them scarce and more valuable. But I have to tell you, when I hear them talk about it, all I really hear is the teacher from Charlie Brown. Wont wont, wont wont. It’s just a lunchbox, man!

Enough of that rant.

I was telling my mother about our shopping trip and what a bust it was. Not one to do any antique shopping herself, mom asked me if I saw any old promotional items from companies and stores. I hadn’t really, and thought it an odd question, so I inquired as to why she was asking.

She said she had a rather large collection of dolls and stuffed animals that companies sold years back. It was in the ’80s and ’90s, she said.

I remember this collection and just assumed she had gotten rid of it when we sold the homestead. Nope, they are all in storage tubs in her garage.

She was convinced they’d be worth something so she held onto them. Again, after watching all those TV shows, I thought she might be onto something because they’re advertising memorabilia, which is a big thing I guess.

So she started telling me about what she had and I started Googling. The first one I found came back with a value of less than $10, which is likely less than she paid for the item in 1995.

She just couldn’t believe it, so threw out another item. This one has to be worth something, she said.

Google says no.

So another item came, and another Google search. After many, many rounds of this, the most valuable item I found was worth a whopping $14.

Understandably, she was frustrated. She thought for sure she was sitting on a gold mine and thought the longer she sat, the more valuable it was going to get.

I almost felt bad delivering the news to her: Sorry, Mom, your stuff is junk.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.