Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 31, 2013

KNISELY: Is it junk or treasure?

They say, “One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.”

While that is true, there is a fine line between old junk and antiques. A friend and I went antique shopping last weekend in Indianapolis. I saw a lot of old junk trying to play itself off as antiques.

Have you ever noticed how nearly all antique stores have a few staple items? It makes you wonder if there’s a rule that says you must carry old McDonald’s promotional glasses and naked baby dolls to have an antique-dealer license. And then there’s the old school strawberry cookie jars you see everywhere. OK, I really like those.

Another item that makes the rounds is old lunch boxes. Talk about antique store staples. While they’re cool to look at and bring back a lot of elementary school memories, I just cannot believe how expensive they are. I’ve watched enough of the antique picking shows on TV to know that if you have the matching thermos, you have a gold mine. I know they were utility items and few people thought to keep them in mint condition, making them scarce and more valuable. But I have to tell you, when I hear them talk about it, all I really hear is the teacher from Charlie Brown. Wont wont, wont wont. It’s just a lunchbox, man!

Enough of that rant.

I was telling my mother about our shopping trip and what a bust it was. Not one to do any antique shopping herself, mom asked me if I saw any old promotional items from companies and stores. I hadn’t really, and thought it an odd question, so I inquired as to why she was asking.

She said she had a rather large collection of dolls and stuffed animals that companies sold years back. It was in the ’80s and ’90s, she said.

I remember this collection and just assumed she had gotten rid of it when we sold the homestead. Nope, they are all in storage tubs in her garage.

She was convinced they’d be worth something so she held onto them. Again, after watching all those TV shows, I thought she might be onto something because they’re advertising memorabilia, which is a big thing I guess.

So she started telling me about what she had and I started Googling. The first one I found came back with a value of less than $10, which is likely less than she paid for the item in 1995.

She just couldn’t believe it, so threw out another item. This one has to be worth something, she said.

Google says no.

So another item came, and another Google search. After many, many rounds of this, the most valuable item I found was worth a whopping $14.

Understandably, she was frustrated. She thought for sure she was sitting on a gold mine and thought the longer she sat, the more valuable it was going to get.

I almost felt bad delivering the news to her: Sorry, Mom, your stuff is junk.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.