Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 27, 2013

OUR VIEW: Find your voice on power plant

THE ISSUE: The city’s proposal to construct a new power plant.

OUR VIEW: Now’s the time to get involved in the civic process and have your voice be heard.

Knowing federal regulations will shut down its coal-fire plant within five years, Logansport Municipal Utilities searched for alternatives to become energy independent. That brought the city to consider a project to generate electricity from a relatively new development in the energy industry.

And now, a proposed new plant would be powered by refuse-derived fuel pellets. In hopes of making that plant a reality, the city is working with a group of about 20 consultants who specialize in areas like engineering, utilities, environmental regulations, power generation, law and economics, among others.

If that sounds expensive, it’s probably because it is. The project carries a $600 million price tag, and the city would prefer to finance it through a public-private partnership.

That’s a lot to take in. We know it’s a complicated matter. We don’t know about you, but we’ve still got more questions than answers.

But as the team of consultants continues to work behind closed doors before releasing its findings to the public, the residents of Logansport can still find their voice in the conversation.

Talk to your elected leaders about your concerns. Send your questions to LMU; they’re even inviting you to do so on the city’s website. You can send questions to hartman.lmu@frontier.com. The site says they’ll present the questions to the consultants, and it promises answers.

We invite the community to use this page to keep the conversation going. Send us a Letter to the Editor with your questions, comments or concerns about the project. Are you for it? Are you against it? Do you not understand it?

You may think you don’t know enough about it to have the right to be involved, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. It’s your city. Your future. Get involved however you can.

There are important decisions going to be made soon in Logansport. Those decisions should be made in front of a crowded room of involved citizens.

Even if you’ve never been one to get involved in the civic process — or even pay attention to it —  now is a great time to start.

We’ll be there at 5 p.m. Feb. 4 at the Logansport City Council meeting to hear the consultants’ presentation to the board.

We hope to see you there.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.